String pinwheels – my Blogger’s Quilt Festival enry

I can’t believe it is that time of year already! I always love the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, but seldom have anything of my own finished to enter. This fall I do have a finished project that I just love.

Meet String Pinwheels, my entry for the Scrappy Quilt category.

String Pinwheels

The story behind this quilt is that I was asked to teach a string quilt workshop at my local guild. I have done string projects there before where we just pulled out whatever string came out of the heap next with no plan or reason. This time I wanted to do something a little more  planned with just two color families and a background. I played around in EQ7 for hours and came up with this design. EQStringPinwheels

I also wanted to do something more modern in color and quilting…..Rummaging in my stash produced inspiration in the form of  leftovers from my Easy Street quilt from earlier this year (and my 2013 Spring Blogger’s Quilt Festival entry!).  The orange-reds also came from my stash and added the perfect spark to the teals. I modified the initial design slightly for the final quilt – you can see that in the way the strings are oriented in the smaller triangles.Pinwheel block

The quilt had a modern feel, so I wanted to do some pretty simple but dense quilting.

straight linesIrregular straight line quilting….

Pebbles and moonsPebbles and moons….

close-upI echo quilted within each of the pinwheel blocks.

quilting String Pinwheels

I just love the texture of this quilt!

texture

And then, of course I had more leftovers….

Pieced backwhich I made into strips and pieced randomly into the white backing. Scrappy binding with just a pop of the orange finished it off.

String Pinwheels statistics -

  • Pattern: Original design by me
  • Size: 33 1/2″ by 19 1/2″ inches
  • Fabric: whatever scraps I had in my stash for the blocks and binding, Kona Snow for the background
  • Quilted by me on my longarm

String pinwheels

Grab a cuppa and skip on over to Amy’s Creative Side for more wonderful quilts and inspiration in the 2013 Blogger’s Quilt Festival!

Categories: Blogger's Quilt Festival, Electric Quilt, quilts, String quilts | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “String pinwheels – my Blogger’s Quilt Festival enry

  1. love the colours, and the quilting is fabulous! Enjoy the festival :-)

  2. Fantastic quilting. And a fun pattern I should like to try out.

  3. Totally gorgeous! Love the color contrast and the quilting is perfect!

  4. Julianne

    I love it and the quilting makes it perfect.

  5. Love the colours and the quilting on this

  6. So striking!! Love the quilting, too.

  7. Your quilting is super impressive! Love the designs!

  8. Beautiful machine quilting. Interesting size, too. LOVE the colors! Very striking.

  9. Beautiful quilt and awesome quilting! The bold colours really stand out!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

