Carol Doak Paper Piecing Class!

Carol DoakWoo hoo! I was able to take a Carol Doak paper piecing class. She is here in town for three days and was teaching three different classes. I REALLY wanted to be able to take the Mariner’s Compass class and that is originally what I had signed up for, but that was tomorrow, on Sunday, and I just couldn’t justify missing church for a quilting class, so I had mine changed to Friday’s class. That was based on Carol’s Bright Stars quilt out of Simply Sensational 9-Patch Stars.

ClassI learned SO MUCH in this class! I would recommend Carol’s class to anyone…well worth the money! She was brought into town by Merrily We Quilt Along and Merrily Parker. This is the same shop where I am doing my First Saturday Block of the Month.

Carol & MerrilyThis is Carol and Merrily, the owner of the shop. She is also married to Ron Parker who now runs Gammill.

 

Bright Stars Here is the original Bright Stars quilt done by Carol and that this particular class is fashioned from.

The last picture shows me, Carol, and the block I completed. Notice I had to be different, and put black around what ends up being the small center star. The rest is pretty much the same.

Carol Doak, my completed block, and meI can’t wait to get my center finished. I still have to pick out a border – I just didn’t find the exact right fabric, so held off on buying any. I will see what it looks like completed. I had a vision of something really bright and “spring-y” as I am really looking forward to spring getting here for good.

I also have a picture of me and the Pfaff I use for all my piecing (and used to use for quilting!). There were two other Pfaffs, one Singer, one Janome, one brand I am not sure of, and the rest were Berninas. I think there were about 25 in class today total.

Me in class with my Pfaff among a sea of BerninasI took a lot of pictures of the quilts Carol had on display. Some of the quilting was incredible. It goes without saying the piecing was incredible, too! I am going to try to post those pictures as a gallery. We will see how it goes!

One thought on “Carol Doak Paper Piecing Class!

Leave a Reply

