What is on my design wall?

Judy L. posed a question on her blog this week about what is on YOUR design wall. I have been busy enough quilting and chasing kids that I haven’t had time to post…so here is what is on my design wall AND what I have been working on….

Birds in the Air and Pineapple Blossom blocks

This picture shows the left side of my design wall. The upper three blocks are for my Pineapple Blossom meets the Dukes of Hazzard quilt. That is the wedding quilt I am making for Keith and Angie V. I had stalled out on this one for a while, but am back in the routine on it now. It is a king size quilt, so there will be a total of 64 blocks. I maybe should have picked out a quicker pattern…..LOL. The lower blocks are some of my Birds In The Air blocks that I did at a guild education class. We learned a technique that makes two at once. This is now one of my leader-ender projects as I have decided to make this for the guest bed.

Mirage blocksThese are the three blocks I finished last week for my 2002 UFO (now a WIP…LOL). The quilt is Mirage by Jinny Beyer. I found it is still available on her website also. A beautiful quilt!

PICT8640I whipped this fence rail quilt out this week thinking it would be one of two I would give to some friends having twin girls. I decided I didn’t quite care for the colors – too much heavy colors for a baby. I am trying to TOTALLY use stash, and had a bunch of 5″ squares I wanted to use up…this was one possibility. It was okay, but I was planning on doing another for the other baby in purple and green.

Here is what I ended up doing with my purple and green 5″ squares – Purple D9P

This is not sewn together in this photo. But I love the colors and the layout! So…I re-evaluated the pink and green – didn’t have enough dark 5″ pink squares to do a totally scrappy pink and green, so I pulled out some solid dark pink fabric and some solid green for the sashing and cornerstone portions. The top is actually finished, and hopefully I will be able to post photos of both finished tops tomorrow. I am MUCH happier with these! I already have backing and am ready to put it on the machine….if I can keep Nikki off of it!

Leave a Reply

