Not-So-Ugly-Monkey Sampler blocks & our Saturday at the ball park

Well, I finished the next four blocks of the “Sunshine Sampler” (AKA Not-So-Ugly-Monkey) that I am doing along with some of the members of Stashbusters. This has been a fun quilt to work on, and I think it continues until October.

Here is the State of Illinois block. The pattern has it as a two color block, but this quilt is kind of scrappy and I needed to use some of the other colors in it also. I absolutely LOVE that teal fabric in the center….it is gorgeous and very “rich” looking….yum.

State of Illinois

The Pick A Little block is from Block Central and was inspired by the Music Man. This block is just kind of ho-hum as far as I am concerned, but I think that is just my color selections.

Pick A Little

The next is the Blackford’s Beauty block. I REALLY like this block and may try to do a quilt with them later on….LOL. In my spare time maybe!

Blackford's Beauty

Here was the posted Corn and Beans block website, however, I used the 12″ version from Jeannie Poore’s Kansas Spirit book instead. I thought the instructions were MUCH easier! I really like this block also. There is a lot you can do with the color to make various parts of the block stand out.

Corn and Beans

Here are the four finished blocks –

June & July blocks

and here are the 12 blocks completed so far –

12 blocks Sunshine Sampler

BALLGAME DAY ON SATURDAY!

Big Brother had ball games all day Saturday. His team won their division and had a couple of REALLY tough games. I was so proud of Big Brother as he pitched the final inning of the first game. His team was 2 runs ahead and the other team had last up. Big Brother struck out two batters, walked a third, and struck out the fourth! That boy can throw HARD!

We played the same team in the third game and the SAME situation came up except the coach pulled Big Brother in an inning early. I guess when our coach called time some of the other teams’ parents could be heard saying, “OH, they’re bringing in the heat!” That was pretty cool (can you tell I am biased? LOL). Big Brother’s arm was sore, and he came in with no outs, a man on first and third. He struck out two, then a kid bunted on him. He walked one, and then struck out the next guy to close the inning. Because of his sore arm, Big Brother couldn’t finish out the last inning, but the pitcher the coach used held it together and we won that game also.

Michael's tourney win

Mini-me found a little buddy to play ball with, and ended up Mini-me, Munchie and he played catch and also played in the dirt. Here is how Mini-me and Munchie finished out the day….

PICT8879

PICT8880

Matt at the ball park

Do you think they had fun?

Leave a Reply

