Pumpkin time of year….

Mini-me & punkins

It is that time of year! We had bought a couple of pumpkins from the farmer’s market a few weeks ago for each of the kids to carve. Yesterday we were gifted with four more, and since it is almost the end of October, something needed to be done with them.

It was supposed to rain all day today, the kids and I thought it would be a great day to carve our pumpkins. Mini-me and Munchie each picked the one they wanted to carve and I started in on them. 

I don’t know what is up…if I am getting old, or all the knives in my house are dull…or I need to go buy a machete (Mini-me would be thrilled with a huge sword!)…..or I need to wait till the Hunter gets home…. I just dont’ remember pumpkins being that hard to cut (maybe that is because I haven’t done it since I was the kids’ age and my mom or dad probably actually did it for me!). I thought about going downstairs and gassing up my trusty Stihl chainsaw, but that probably would have made a mess on the carpet. So I perservered and sawed on those puppies till my arm about came off. And that was just to get the tops off of two of them!

M & M's pumpkins

Here are the two pumpkins with the cap’s cut and also cleaned out. The big one is Mini-me’s and the little one is Munchie’s. I told them they were going to have to wait until daddy got home or I did some research on the internet before we put faces on them!

Munch and pumpkins

And here is Munchie with the pumpkins…and then what does brother do?Carving pumpkins

Puts the lids on the wrong pumpkins!

So, what to do with the other pumpkins? Mom had to cut one more up – then we baked it to make pumpkin puree for pies or bread….cut up pumpkin

Then I got to puree it in my blender. I thought I got a picture of that, but obviously didn’t as it didn’t download! I had help chopping it up, so let’s blame my forgetfulness on that…

Pumpkin bread

Above is what we did with two cups of the pumpkin – made Mini-me’s favorite, pumpkin bread. He was in absolute heaven, and I can’t even begin to tell you how many pieces he ate before bed.

One thing I noticed about this pumpkin was that it wasn’t as orange as what comes from a can. See how tannish-yellow it is instead of orange? This is fairly close to the real color also. I really don’t know if this is because of the type of pumpkin or what. I have no idea what variety any of these were as we bought all of them. The kids and I want to grow our own next year…we can compare then.

Total we put up 6 cups of pumpkin in the freezer for pies and other goodies later and the two cups that went into the bread. 8 cups of pumpkin puree out of one pumpkin is not too bad!

There was only one problem – we still had leftovers (mmmm, doesn’t that look good? NOT!)pulp and seeds

My mom’s sister, Janey, always had roasted pumpkin seeds this time of year as she always had pumpkins she cooked and grew (from what I remember anyway). I was young and didn’t like them at the time – or wouldn’t try them, can’t remember which, but I thought it would be fun to try it with the kids.

We washed and cleaned up the seeds as much as possible cleaned pumpkin seeds

and then set them out to dry on cookie sheets – drying seeds

They really are pretty slimy. It will probably be tomorrow afternoon before they are dry enough to roast.

 I will let you know how it goes and how everyone likes them….

 

 

One thought on “Pumpkin time of year….

  1. I’m looking forward to seeing the pumpkin faces. I carved one with my grandson no 1 a few years ago, and I found it very difficult to get through the skin. Consequently, the face was a little quirky and lopsided, but GS didn’t care.

Leave a Reply

