Pumpkins carved

Well, we did it! Woo hoo!

PICT0310

One problem – notice how unhappy Munchie looks? You know how brothers are….Mini-me was goofing around and broke the stem off Munchie’s pumpkin. See that stem-less, naked top? Munch was desolate….I had tried hot glue but the pumpkin was too moist. When she wouldn’t even smile for the camera, I had one of those “lightbulb” moments – I had done research a couple days ago on pumpkin carving and remembered that toothpicks could sometimes be used to “mend” a broken part of a pumpkin when you were carving them. So I took the stem and punched a little hole up into it, then punched a little hole into the center of the top of the pumpkin, inserted a toothpick (and another to tighten it up) into both, and Wa-La! a healed pumpkin with a stem!

kids and pumpkins

Now look at her…. a little bit of a change in attitude for sure! LOL. She is back to posing like she normally does when a camera is pointed at her. And notice the pumpkin? Looks great!

Both pumpkins

I will show you what I used in a minute to do the carving, but for now the kit I bought included patterns. The kids each picked out one. Mini-me picked out the cool looking spider and Munchie first picked out the one with the horse (the headless horseman, but she didn’t notice that, just wanted a horse). Notice the size of Munchie’s pumpkin? No headless horseman was going to fit on the munchie pumpkin! Her second choice was this cat pattern which I still had to reduce to 60% of original size to get it to fit!

Munchie's cat

So this is “Meow”, named after Munchie’s white stuffed kitty she has had since birth.

Mini-me's spider

Here is Mini-me’s spider. He doesn’t have a name as far as I know.

Now I am sure you remember my frustration with carving/cutting pumpkins from THIS post….as I said, I did research after that debacle. You  can use a dremel tool (if you have one and don’t mind a big mess) or you can buy little kits to make carving easier.  I had seen some on-line by the Pumpkin Masters and ended up finding and buying one of these at Wal-Mart Friday – the Pumpkin Masters Carving Party Kit.

Pumpkin Masters

Pumpkin Master kit

I can’t recommend a pumpkin carving kit enough. This made all the difference in the world, and I am now one happy mama (you know what they say, if mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy!).

By the way, if you want to see some really cool pumpkins go visit the Pumpkin Masters or PumpkinGlow.com. Or just Google “pumpkin carving” and you will be amazed at the incredible images you see! COOL!

On a “quilty” note – I notice these patterns would make really cool Halloween trapunto or applique patterns or even quilting patterns on a Halloween quilt…..hmmm. Another project….just what I need!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkins carved

  1. Woww, they are brilliant. Put my efforts in the past to shame. Mine had 2 roundish holes for eyes, a triangle-ish nose and zigzag shape for the mouth and teeth. Yours are masterpieces.

Leave a Reply

