Happy New Year!

Wow, I so can’t believe it is 2010! Where has the time gone?

I have been working on some quilting stuff. I finished a customer quilt this morning that ended up really nice – I will post photos later tomorrow as I haven’t taken any.

After doing that I cleaned up my sewing room some as it seems to catch all the “junk” that needs to be hidden for whatever reason. I cleared things up and did a little more organizing – actually got out one UFO to make it more accessible – it only needs borders put on and it is ready to quilt. I already have the back and everything, so that should be a quickie.

I also worked on my Jinny Beyer Mirage UFO for a while today and got a block ready to sew together. It will be partially paper pieced and partially hand-sewn because of set in seams. I have found that is the easiest and quickest way to take care of those! LOL.

Next I worked on some string blocks for Stacey’s It’s A String Thing Challenge. I mainly organized and sorted through my string bin to see what colors I could come up with to start with. I picked some prints with black backgrounds for one side of the squares and prints with white backgrounds or off-white for the other side.  I was able to piece the black side of three blocks before the kids told me they needed some lovin’ and snugglin’ – so I took a break and snuggled with them and watched Ole’ Yeller.

What is coming up for the weekend? I have a First Saturday BOM at a local quilt shop to go to in the morning, then I believe the kids and I are going to go visit some friends. I hope to get a little quilting done in the morning before I have to leave. Go check out what else is going on for the weekend at Tamera Quilts’ Wind Up for the Weekend.

Leave a Reply

