Plans for the weekend…..and a couple of finishes!

Well, I am just now getting to the computer today….My main “quilty” goal for this weekend is to do all the hand applique for my challenge quilt. I really need to get on the stick with that one! LOL.  My local longarm guild has their meeting tomorrow, so most of tomorrow is gone as far as getting things at home done. I probably will NOT get all the applique done, but I am going to make myself work on that one and nothing else when it comes to quilting.

I will show you what distracted me from my challenge quilt – a UFO almost finished!

I started the center applique portion of this block in probably 2000 or 2001 when I took some hand applique classes here at a local quilt shop. This was hanging on my design wall Monday as I had put it up waiting for inspiration to strike. I added corner setting triangles and three borders, picked out backing fabric, and this baby is ready to quilt! The border fabrics are not exactly what I would have chosen, but all the original fabric is gone and I am committed to using from stash so am making do. I will wait until the quilting is done to pick out binding fabric.

The reason I had pulled this little block out is that I had purchased Judy Allen’s Judalator rulers for curved crosshatching as a Christmas present for myself, and have been looking for something to use them on……hence adding the extra white space around the block. Can’t wait to try them out! (But it is going to have to wait as I have three or four other quilts in line in front of it!)

Here is my other finished top for this week – my first string top!

It is totally put together! I have also picked out backing –

It is a novelty print I had picked up a while ago and will go perfect with this top as I will be donating it to a charity for kids.

Head over to Tamera’s Quilts to see what others have planned for the weekend!

7 thoughts on “Plans for the weekend…..and a couple of finishes!

  1. Wow your are a busy quilter. I love your work. The string quilt is fun and as I’ve found, it’s always a surprise to see how they actually turn out.

    I always admire applique. That’s not something I do well, but I enjoy seeing other’s work. Your’s is stunning.

  2. Can’t wait to see how you use the judalators on the medallion/applique quilt. It is absolutely gorgeous!!!!
    That backing is precious and perfect for your string quilt!
    Can’t wait to see it!

  3. Bari, I love it!!! Great job. It is very nice. How about joining in to make a red and white one for the needle case contest? I had to dig deep to get all my red and whites It was so much fun.

    Thanks for being part of The String Thing challenge.

    I look forward to seeing your quilts.

    Stacey

Leave a Reply

