Design Wall Monday – May 17, 2010

I actually have something on my design wall – two somethings actually!

This is a top I started for a quick and easy baby quilt for a shower next Sunday – obviously, not much time to get it done! Each square is 12″ finished, so this part of the top is 36″ square. I got this far and thought to myself that I better check and make sure the gal was having a girl as this would not make a good quilt for a boy. I called one of the ladies giving the shower, and sure enough, the baby is a girl…but, mom doesn’t like pastel pink. They are doing their nursery in yellow, lady bugs, and dragon flies and mom prefers bright pink. Hmmmm, this just won’t work!

So I went to plan B, figuring I could use this top for another baby girl who came along.

Plan B –

I didn’t have enough of the focus fabric to make 12″ squares, so each of these are 11″ squares. The focus fabric has bugs –

worms, bees, snails, caterpillars, butterflies, ladybugs, and dragonflies! Perfect! So I added the yellow border and the outer circle fabric, all from stash! Yay!

Quick, easy quilts! I still want to add a border to the top quilt – probably a green one. But not too bad for a day’s work.

Be inspired by what others have done at Patchwork Times!

5 thoughts on “Design Wall Monday – May 17, 2010

Leave a Reply

