Quilter’s Accountability Report – July 7, 2010

Progress! Can you say progress! Woo hoo, I actually got some stuff done this week and I am tickled pink!

Last week’s goals

  1. Jordan’s quilt – Cut fabrics to begin piecing  – well, didn’t get this done yet
  2. Civil War Tribute month 3 blocks – begin piecing – nope, didn’t do this one either….
  3. Quilt funky table runner – Done!
  4. Quilt kaleidoscope table runner – Done!
  5. SWMO Longarm group challenge quilt – mark top for quilting – not done either
  6. Rose applique wall hanging – mark top for quilting – not started, but hanging on the design wall for inspiration

Okay, looking at things this way doesn’t look quite so good, but I did get a baby quilt cut out, pieced and quilted during this time also. (My memory has problems sometimes – the retrieval system doesn’t retrieve). Does that quilt count? And those pesky table runners….LOL

First – these neutrals piled up here are for Jordan’s quilt. They aren’t cut out yet, but at least I gathered them up ready to cut. That is some progress anyway!

This is the baby quilt I worked up and the quilting is finished. It is also all from stash. The shower is Sunday, so I still have to bind and label it. (You would think I could have cropped the junk out of the side of my design wall before using this picture)!

The kaleidoscope table runner came out looking very nicely also. I quilted continuous curves in the spiderweb sections and used plain straight line quilting in the corners. I haven’t buried my threads on this one yet, so it looks a little “hairy” on the close up….

I was really tickled with this next one. Remember my mess up with the Dresden plate ruler when I was attempting to make the kaleidoscope blocks here? I ended up with a funky looking table runner instead….

Not very pretty, but I had an idea I could do some raw-edge applique with my long arm and make it work. The hard part has been taking the time to figure out what to applique, then cutting them out and glueing them down. Yes, I did glue the pieces down with Elmer’s Washable School Glue, hit them with the iron to secure them, then loaded it back on my machine and went to town.

This is now called the Funky Flower table runner. I was really tickled with how it turned out. The flower petals were cut out of leftovers from the kaleidoscope blocks in the other table runner!

This is a close up of one of the flowers and the background fill.

This is a fun, easy background fill when you want something different from the same old stipple or meander, but still don’t want to spend a lot of time on it. I will tell you, though, that I was sweating it on this one as I was about out of the thread. Here is a picture of what I had leftover when I was finished.

I guess I can’t put off making an order any more can I?

This week’s goals

  1. Bind and label Jessyca’s baby quilt
  2. Jordan’s quilt – cut fabrics
  3. Civil War Tribute month 3 blocks
  4. SWMO Longarm group challenge quilt
  5. Rose applique wall hanging

I think this list will keep me busy. I don’t think I forgot anything coming up, like more baby showers next week or anything…but you never know!

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun and let us know what you have accomplished this week! Remember with my WordPress blog, you have to actually click on the link to see who has joined up and visit their sites, even if you don’t actually want to link up!

I will check in with you later this evening!

10 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – July 7, 2010

  1. Pingback: QA Report #25 « Prairie Moon Quilts

  2. Pingback: QA Wednesday « Quilting and Stuff by Knitnoid

  3. It’s ages since I went round the HeartStrings blogring and I’m finally catching up! The tablerunners are great – beautiful quilting! Maybe you’re setting yourself too many goals per week, two runners quilted and a baby quilt nearly finished seem like plenty to accomplish in a week when you have a family also. Be kind to yourself 🙂

    • Thank you, Helen. I have a tendency to push myself too much. It is a psychological thing and (I think) helps me get more done. Or at least that is what I keep telling myself!

  4. Love your Q/A report… I need to start doing something with my Goals and To Do lists so that I can actually start geting something done! lol It seems that the only time I do get anything done is when I have a sewing day with buddies….

    LOVE the table runners! They both look fantastic!

  5. Hi BAri,
    Looking to email rather than just comment. I had a question about your cool raw edge applique. How well does it hold up? I am clueless when it comes to applique and I’d like to do some like you did but wonder if it frays badly like this and risk separating from the background. I don’t mind the fraying but I don’t want the pieces falling off. So in short, what is your experience with raw edge applique?

Leave a Reply

