Quilter’s Accountability Report – July 28, 2010

Boy, it has been a busy week! We finally got the last of our company off before lunch on Monday, so things are almost back to normal. I think I am still doing dishes from then though….LOL.

The only other thing was that our home phone lines and internet went down overnight Sunday and still weren’t back up late Tuesday night! I am typing this early Wednesday morning which is NOT my normal mode of operation and why this is a little late. Apparently someone pulled the phone lines down to sell for scrap, and quite a wide area has been out of service. The Hunter works from home using the internet and phone for communication with his company in Ohio, so he hasn’t been able to do much either. He and his coworker (also our neighbor) drove to McDonald’s with their laptops Tuesday morning so they could get some things done. I don’t think I can carry my desktop computer in there though. Could pose some problems hooking everything up! I am sure glad I didn’t have to try to go to the library to get this up!

Last week’s goals

  1. Finish quilt entry paperwork for show – DONE
  2. Prepare and deliver quilts entered in local fair – DONE
  3. Finish quilt on my machine – DONE
  4. Play with more designs on the applique wall hanging – Not done

I actually got some quilting stuff done. I completed the quilting on a UFO that I had started back at the beginning of the year and I had put back on my machine after finishing Nadine’s quilt. It is a panel wall hanging with Jeremiah 29:11 on it. I am really tickled with it. The binding is finished up and ready to sew down to the front.

The hanging sleeve is also finished and ready to put on! How is that for planning ahead? LOL

I delivered my two quilt entries to the fair Saturday morning before our next round of visitors got here. It will be fun to see thee quilts displayed …I actually even have tickets to the fair and will take the kids one morning! Normally I avoid the fair like the plague…too many people, too hot, too expensive, and too many years working there! That and they don’t have much in the way of livestock or farming stuff any more. I much prefer going to FarmFest and drooling over all the cool machinery, tools, trailers, equipment, and livestock there!

I did find out that my quilt American Charms won first place in its division at the fair – so that is very exciting! I can’t wait to see it hanging there. Others from our guild won the Grand Champion ribbons.

I completed the entry forms and the photos for my entries in the Ozark Piecemakers Quilt Guild quilt show. We are limited to three quilts for the judged categories, but I will have several for display and special exhibits.

The binding is finished on the Funky Flowers and Kaleidoscope table runners and both have been washed.

I was really happy with the way Funky Flowers turned out after washing. The flowers “ragged” up nicely!

Another thing I accomplished this week was to do the trapunto part of my whole cloth quilt. I got it all quilted with water-soluble thread and am working on trimming the batting away a little at a time. I am really looking forward to quilting it!

And last but not least, I loaded a customer quilt. This is an adorable quilt with blocks that were embroidered by the owner’s mother or grandmother.

This week’s goals

  1. Finish embroidered customer quilt
  2. Finish trimming the trapunto batting
  3. Civil War Tribute blocks – continue working on
  4. Play with more designs on the applique wall hanging

It is promising to be another busy week, so I think I will leave it at this. VBS for the kids starts next week, and I am working all five days, so that will be a good chunk of time that won’t be spent quilting. But VBS is so much fun for the kids! They had a wonderful time last year.

So what have you been up to this week? How did you do on your goals?

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun and let us know what you have accomplished! Remember with my WordPress blog, you have to actually click on the link to see who has joined up and visit their sites, even if you don’t actually want to link up!

I will check in with you later today!

8 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – July 28, 2010

  1. Pingback: QA Wednesday « Quilting and Stuff by Knitnoid

    • Virginia,

      I found one place that had them on-line when I just googled for them. I emailed it to you directly. I have thought about buying another also to give away, just haven’t done it yet….maybe I need to!

      Hope that helps!

  2. Wow – those are wonderful quilts – kind of a mini quilt show in itself. I loved how the table runner washed up – nice job! And your show quilt – stunning.

    Did you get any sleep at all?

    • Thank you, Alycia. Actually I have been getting sleep. I have just been working on those for weeks a little at a time….LOL. I do like that table runner….too bad I am giving it away!

      I plan on putting up more pictures of the American Charms quilt when I have time. I need to put up those and the ones from Nadine’s quilt. Maybe next week.

  3. You got so much done! I fizzled out this week. I’ve had too many other things going on. I’m jumping back in next week, tho. It’ll be a new month — I don’t want to miss out on my chance to make yet another new list! Congrats on getting so much accomplished!

Leave a Reply

