Quilter’s Accountability Report – August 11. 2010

Hello again! The weeks are passing so quickly!

It is still scorching here. During July we had so much rain that we had mushrooms and fungus growing everywhere, the grass was lush and green, and we had to mow every four or five days. Now it is so hot that the grass is all drying up. Chance of actual temperatures of 101 today and about the same tomorrow. We are so blessed to have air conditioners!

Well, I haven’t gotten a lot done this week, but I wasn’t being too ambitious either with VBS and everything.

Last week’s goals

  1. Finish Swirls and Stars quilt – DONE!
  2. Finish embroidered quilt – not yet done
  3. Finish trimming the trapunto batting on my wholecloth – didn’t touch
  4. Finish the Jeremiah quilt binding – almost finished!

Here is the Swirls and Stars top I just finished quilting that belongs to a customer, Janet B.

I was really pleased with the way this turned out.I thought the stars turned out nicely, even and regular

The back…and a closer picture of the back.

Here is the final pattern on my machine.

It was actually fairly simple to make, just time-consuming. I played with drawing on a piece of plexiglass, then transferred the designs to parchment paper. I did the design in two different colors for row designations to make it easier to distinguish between the different sections. I have some fine tuning to do – I need a little more fill in one of the edges, but other than that it stitched out pretty smoothly.

As far as my other goals this week went, I have decided on a final pattern for the embroidered quilt’s sashings and borders, so will get that done this afternoon. I am also almost done with the binding on Jeremiah. I have about 10″ left to bind, then the sleeve and label to finish it. I didn’t have enough sit-down time in front of the TV this week to even think about finishing up the trapunto on my whole cloth.

This week’s goals:

  1. Finish the embroidered quilt
  2. Finish binding and sleeve on Jeremiah 29:11
  3. Finish trimming trapunto on my whole cloth

I am going to stop here again. I know it isn’t much, but this is a big week coming up – all three of the kids start school next week! Munchie and Mini-me will be in kindergarten and Big Brother in 8th grade, plus Big Brother will turn 14. I am going to spend as much time as I can with them…I even took a nap with Mini-me and Munchie yesterday. I think the heat has been taking it out of all of us.

Are you all getting geared up for the kids in your lives to go back to school? Or maybe YOU are going back to school? It is a busy and exciting time. Will you have any time for quilting this week? What are your goals? Share them with us and let us cheer you on and encourage you!

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun and let us know what you have accomplished! Remember with my WordPress blog, you have to actually click on the link to see who has joined up and visit their sites, even if you don’t actually want to link up!

<

I will check in on you later!

5 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – August 11. 2010

  1. Pingback: QA Report #29 « Prairie Moon Quilts

  2. Pingback: QA Wednesday « Quilting and Stuff by Knitnoid

Leave a Reply

