Quilter’s Accountability Report – August 25, 2010

Another busy week. Does it ever slow down at all? If you are like me, it sure doesn’t!

Here is a photo of my little ones on their first day of school. Munchie was not too excited as she finally figured out she was actually going to have to WEAR her glasses to school….and wear them while there. I thought we were going to have a major drama, but she handled it well in the end. She even forgot she had them on and wore them at recess! Mini-me was just plain excited!

I did get some done on quilting this week.

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish trimming trapunto on my whole cloth – DONE! Woo hoo!
  2. Finish customer quilt – not quite, but almost
  3. Start First Saturday block of the month – started

Trimming trapunto batting from my wholecloth is totally finished. The backing is ready to go, now I just need to get the batting prepared.

I am not quite finished with the customer quilt, but got quite a bit done. I had to visit with my customer last night to firm up some ideas on the quilting, so that is taken care of and I am ready to finish it up. Here is a little sneak peak at that

I cut out and started the First Saturday block. It is another basket block and I have to hand applique four basket handles so I am working on that while I wait in car lines and for the school bus.

I accomplished something else also….I finished the piecing on Jordan’s Funky Monkey quilt! It looks really great. Now I just need to find that orange backing fabric and I can get it quilted in the next couple of weeks. It will be an all-over, so won’t take very long.

Here is a close up of the print fabric.Jordan loves orange and is going to Oklahoma State University so I really wanted to find a bright orange flannel for the back. I couldn’t find any of the right color, but did find some of the minkie with dots material so am going to use that for the back. Should be a cozy, snuggly quilt.

Saturday I needed a break from some pretty intense quilting on my customer quilt so I unzipped it and loaded up my Little Red Zinger quilt. I was able to get all the SID done as well as the stabilization in all the selvage sections of the quilt. I have only the quilting in the red sections of the zinger blocks. I pieced two small sections of left over wool batting to use, and so far I can’t even see where I joined it except where it hangs over the edges – and that will be covered by binding when it is finished. That was fun and quick!

This week’s goals –

  1. Finish customer quilt
  2. Finish quilting on Little Red Zinger
  3. Finish appliqueing handles on baskets

That will do it for this week. I have some more canning to do, so can’t get too ambitious!

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky. Check us out, help to encourage your fellow quilters, and join in on the fun!

I will check in with you later this evening!

9 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – August 25, 2010

  1. Pingback: QA Wednesday « Quilting and Stuff by Knitnoid

    • We all did fine. I have always enjoyed solitude and have had precious little of it in the last 5 years, so I am enoying it now. We are in a wonderful school system (for now anyway) and both kids have great teachers. Maybe some day I will be homeschooling!

  2. Pingback: QA Report #31 « Prairie Moon Quilts

    • No, she wasn’t happy, was she? LOL

      I USED to hate wearing glasses. As we get older though, our eyes change and I found I was having to carry around reading glasses when I was wearing my contacts. I couldn’t see anything within an arms length. Had to have glasses to read the prices at Wal Mart. Sure couldn’t get my focus quite right when I was quilting! I now have bifocals (the ones that you can’t tell are bifocals) so I wear them all the time and now can read or look in the distance without having to look for another pair of pesky glasses. The Hunter is just now beginning to experience this phenomenon. His arms aren’t quite long enough!

  3. Bari,

    I’m going to play along this week. I have set a lofty goal of getting all the UFOs in the house DONE by the end of September. I think I can, I think I can!

Leave a Reply

