Quilter’s Accountability Report – September 29, 2010

Well, I survived last week…barely! LOL. I think the quilt show was a huge success. There were a lot of gorgeous quilts, beautiful fabric, and wonderful vendors. What more can you ask for?!

My quilting improved a lot since the last show two years ago. Five quilts that I quilted were in judged categories and four of the five ended up with honorable mentions. I own only one of those quilts, so was REALLY excited for my customers! I hope to do a post with pictures of the quilt show and the workshop later this week, so stay tuned!

Meanwhile, I sure didn’t get as much done as I would have liked, but I had even less time than I expected. I only started catching up yesterday with everything I neglected the week before. That doesn’t even include cleaning house and we have company coming over Saturday!

Last week’s goals –

  1. Get fabrics and supplies ready for Thursday’s workshop – DONE!
  2. Finish customer quilt – Started, but not done
  3. Start another customer quilt – NADA
  4. Start First Saturday block – Started

The first thing I had to do was to give my sewing room a major pick up on Tuesday (my first day back in the studio). I have been piling stuff up for the last two months and it was so bad I couldn’t find anything for the piles. The table top was so full you couldn’t see the green cutting mats and the ironing board was just as bad. It is still not great, but at least I feel like I can work now. Something about TOO much clutter makes it hard for me to be very creative….

This is the next customer quilt up. I did get it basted down yesterday and am ready to start quilting today.

This week’s goals –

  1. Finish First Saturday block (due Friday)
  2. Finish quilt on frame
  3. Start another customer quilt
  4. Hang two ruler boards on the wall
  5. Practice with my bow daily (not quilt related, but deer season is upon me and I need to get with it!)

I think that is enough for this week again. We are having folks over on Saturday evening and The Hunter wants us all to go fishing Saturday morning. He and the kids went last Saturday while I was tied up at the quilt show and they caught a limit of Crappie. Guess what we are eating Saturday evening? Fresh fried Crappie! Woo hoo!

Here are the oak ruler boards I am referring to. These were made by a neighbor of my friend Portia. He does a wonderful job.

This dark one is for my long arm rulers and will hang on the wall near my machine. The slots are wider to fit the wider rulers. I also ordered it unfinished so that I could stain it to match the trim in the basement where my longarm is. I finished up the varnish yesterday, so it should be dry enough to hang and start using later this week. I can’t wait to get all my rulers on it as they are all jumbled up in a drawer and are hard to find.

This lighter one is one of the first two experimental models the fellow made. It is for regular rulers and will go over my cutting table in my sewing room. In the first picture in this post you can see where my rulers are – it will go on that wall where ever I can find a stud to nail it to – solid oak is heavy! I didn’t worry about the color of this one as I usually ALWAYS close the door to my sewing room when folks come over (too messy otherwise!).

I HOPE to get more than this done, but I am sure not counting on it. What about you? Join us and let us encourage you!

Accountability report links

What are you doing this week? Want to just peek at what we are up to and trying to accomplish? Want to cheer us on to actually finish some stuff? Then join in and visit! Click on Mr. Linky to see who is playing and what they have accomplished since last week!

I will check in with you later this evening. Can’t wait to see what you have accomplished!

7 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – September 29, 2010

  1. Morning, Bari. I LOVE those ruler boards. I have a cheapy that I bought at JoAnn’s or Hancocks (can’t remember). It’ works, but it doesn’t look that good! 🙂

    I know what you mean about too much clutter squelching your creativity. I just can’t think when there’s “too much” clutter. However, I still subscribe to the adage that a clean desk is the sign of a sick mind, lol.

    Hope you have a great week!

  2. Pingback: QA Wednesday « Quilting and Stuff by Knitnoid

  3. Pingback: QA Report #35 « Prairie Moon Quilts

  4. Bari..It was so good to see you at the show. The show was great. I agree with you on the clutter thing, It kind of squashes the creativity. Hey I made one of those snow man quilts a long time ago. Well sort of LOL I made mine into pillows and gave them away. Have fun quilting it.

    Congratulations on the honorable mentions.

  5. Can you explain how these ruler boards work on the wall? I have a ruler board but it sits on my table or ledge in my sewing room.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

