Quilter’s Accountability Report – October 6, 2010

Well, I think fall is finally here and the weather is gorgeous! I got quite a bit done inside in spite of the weather….and even got to spend some time outside.

I have been cleaning up my gardens and yard. The pumpkin patch had enough weeds in it that it could be baled for hay. The only drawback to that is that the patch is in the front yard! LOL. Now it is all cleaned up and almost looks like a lawn again.

What about quilting related goals?

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish First Saturday block (due Friday)FINISHED!
  2. Finish quilt on frame – FINISHED!
  3. Start another customer quilt – Started
  4. Hang two ruler boards on the wall – DONE!
  5. Practice with my bow daily (not quilt related, but deer season is upon me and I need to get with it!)  – ummm, not nearly enough

Not a bad week if I say so myself.

This is Merrily’s Baskets block 4 – finished! With the pink rose fabric I finally found.

The first of the two ruler racks – this is for my longarm rulers. I had the placement for these all planned out myself, even found the studs in the wall and everything. When I went to screw them into the wall they wouldn’t hold. I decided I missed the stud and moved them over about an inch, repeated the process, and they still wouldn’t hold. I finally gave in and asked The Hunter for help before the wall looked like Swiss cheese. He came down and checked it out even after a long hard day….apparently I found the studs but my screws weren’t long enough to go through the oak, the plaster board, AND into the stud!

This picture is for Eileen Caspers. She asked how the hanging ruler boards work. This is a side view of the board with the rulers in it. It shows the angle the slots are cut out into the wood that makes the rulers tilt up slightly.You have to be careful with some of the rulers with sharp angles and points – I was afraid I might break off a point so a few I just left in my drawer, which still makes it much easier to find things!

Here is the one in my sewing room.

There are still a couple of rulers in a ruler board laying on the table at the bottom of this picture. The large square ruler is 16 1/2 inches square – it seemed like a little too much weight hanging on the wall. There is also a clear “yardstick” ruler that was too long for the hanging rack. All in all it is a great improvement on space and ease in finding things.

This is the customer quilt I finished up. It will be a raffle quilt for a charity. It is flannel and looks so cuddly!

This is the customer quilt I have on the machine now. It belongs to Sandy and is so bright and fun! I love the flowers and the colors, but I just had to add some bugs to the white background around the flowers. Tell me, do you know of any flowers that don’t have butterflies, bees, ladybugs, or dragonflies around them? That would be a pretty uninteresting flower garden! So here some of them are….

Dragonfly

Bee

Flowers and pot along with a dragonfly and a bee. This quilt is for Sandy’s granddaughter. She should have fun trying to find and count the bugs!

All these designs are courtesy of Dawn “The Pajama Quilter” Ramirez and her new DVD/workbook “The Pajama Quilter Rethreaded”. Thanks Dawn, for a wonderful resource!

So, the only other thing on my list was getting my bow out and practicing. I am ashamed to say I was only out there with it on one day – Tuesday. To be honest, I probably wouldn’t have made it out then except I knew I would have to report to you all! I have to keep it up though, or we might go hungry this winter….  (Not really, not with The Hunter around – if we had to depend on ME for meat we probably would go hungry!)

So, what is up for the coming week?

This week’s goals –

  1. Continue shooting my bow daily
  2. Finish the Corner Flower Shop
  3. Start another customer quilt
  4. Finish hexagons for First Saturday Grandmother’s Flower Garden block

I think that will be enough for the week.

Accountability report links

Join us and let us help keep you accountable. It is amazing how having to report on “progress” (or lack thereof!) makes a person really bear down! Join in any time, just click on Mr Linky and come visit!!

I will check in with you later today!

8 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – October 6, 2010

  1. Bari
    You have been busy as a bee. Love the client quilt so bright and cute, a fun quilt. I have not yet bought that book. I have her other one. I should check out this book…it looks fun.

  2. Pingback: QA Wednesday « Quilting and Stuff by Knitnoid

  3. Pingback: QA Report #36 « Prairie Moon Quilts

Leave a Reply

