Fall 2010 Blogger’s Quilt Festival

Amy at Amy’s Creative Side is having her 2010 Fall Blogger’s Quilt Festival where she invites all of us bloggers to show off one of our favorite quilts…..

Here is my entry for this fall – my Little Red Zinger quilt….

The inspiration for this quilt was from Karen Griska’s Selvage Blog and her Red Zinger quilt. Earlier this year I was helping with a string quilting workshop at my local guild and I wanted to show them you could use selvages as strings also. This quilt was the result and also includes many selvages that ladies in my guild have been saving for me. There is even a flannel or two in there for variety! When I showed it at guild I had several ladies come up and look at it and say, “Hey, there is my fabric!”.

Each block is 4 inches finished, so the interior of the quilt is 16 by 16 with a 1″ red border then 4″ selvage borders. I designed and did all the quilting on my longarm.

I wanted my feather quilting to be different from just straight up and down feathers, so I threw in some curves!

I also wanted to make the corners of the outer border a little different, so I made those as Square in a Square blocks, again with quilted feathers.

This has to be one of my favorite quilts because it is so bright and happy, it reminds me of my friends, and I love the quilting. It will hang in my sewing room when I get a hanger completed for it!

Jump on over to Amy’s blog – take your cup of coffee with you, your “drool rag” and be prepared to be amazed at the wonderful and creative quilts!

Amy's Creative Side - Blogger's Quilt Festival
17 thoughts on “Fall 2010 Blogger’s Quilt Festival

  1. Don’t you just love the Selvage Blog??? So inspirational! My selvage quilt is in the Fall Online quilt festival too–you can see it at my blog. I am saving my selvages again for another selvage project. I am not sure what I will do next. PS There are feathers quilted onto my quilt too.

  2. Beautiful! I’ve been saving my selvages for a while now, just waiting for the right project. This one is even more special since your friends gave you selvages!

Leave a Reply

