Quilter’s Accountability Report – November 10, 2010

I just have to start off with this picture of a maple in our front yard. Our yard is full of oaks, hickories, and walnuts, but there wasn’t much color at all, so a year or two after the kids were born I planted this and one other maple. Both were supposed to be the blaze orange sugar maples. I think the other tree might be a silver maple and has never produced anything in the way of color. This one started turning a beautiful yellow and looks so wonderful in the front yard. This is also Munchie’s climbing tree….As for quilting, I have decided I am a slacker. I just am not getting much done, but sure feel like I am running around like a chicken with my head cut off!

Last week’s goals –

  1. Bind and label Jordan’s quilt – binding half way on
  2. Bind and label Blum baby quilt – binding cut out
  3. Put on and finish customer quilt – on but not finished
  4. Maybe have something on my design wall that I am working on so that I can participate in Design Wall Monday over at Judy’s again (my last one was May 24!)  – nothing!
  5. Piece my 2009 First Saturday block #13 – Finished!
  6. Get fabrics ready for November 11 Quilt of Valor Sew Day at my guild – started, but not done…

As you see, I did a little bit on most of it, but didn’t get anything but the one quilt block finished.

This is the 13th block of my 2009 First Saturday block of the month at a local quilt shop. I thought it turned out pretty nice, now I need to get the black frame on it, then get the blocks ready for setting. I am making the quilt large enough for my bed, so have been looking for 4 yards of fabric to match the rest of the top. I finally found it and purchased it this week, though it is not yet here. That was a big relief because I have had some trouble finding it. The top will be fun to put together……Now I am in the process of looking for a luscious brown fabric for the back.

Jordan’s quilt has the binding stitched down on one side. It won’t take me long to stitch the other side down as I am going to use a contrasting thread and a decorative stitch on my machine. Much quicker than hand stitching it!

I cut out the binding for the baby quilt, just haven’t gotten any further than that.

I was inspired by Alycia and her Veteran’s Rail Fence Quilt Along to coordinate a QOV sew day with my guild on November 11 and had a lot to do to get information out to all the members. We have had a lot of interest, so will see what happens. I will take my camera and give you some shots of what we worked on.  Just so you know – Alycia is offering prizes during her quilt along, too!

I have fabrics picked out for the quilt along, but just haven’t done anything else with them…part of the problem is that I have really been wanting to do Alycia’s Not So Top Secret Project #2 since she first published it and I just haven’t had time. So the upshot of it is that I am torn between the easier rail fence or the NSTSP#2 that I have wanted to do for a year! Indecision can be so frustrating! LOL

I did several other things that don’t count. I sorted through my UFO’s and PIGs to see what I might want to get finished before the first of the year. I have a couple of quilt tops close to done and one of them is even in Christmas fabrics that I worked on last year at this time – you can see it here. I have all kinds of things I would like to finish, but don’t think I will get to all of them! I finalized some notes from my guild’s 2010 quilt show to plan for check in and check out of quilts at the 2012 show – I needed to get them written down and legible before I forgot where we had problems and issue. The kids and I cleaned out our gardens of dead tomato plants, put the stakes and cages away for the winter, and pulled up the last pumpkin plant that I planted too late for the pumpkins to have time to mature. I had the vet out to float the teeth of my mare and my mother’s mare (for those unfamiliar with horses, that is dental work for horses as they have a tendency to get sharp points which make it painful to eat) . Mom’s mare is 28 years old, almost 29, so really needed it. When horses get that old they can’t grind up their food quite as well, so it really helps if their teeth (or what is left of them) are in good shape and not causing any pain! The other thing I did was make the first big grocery run since September 9th, so I actually hit the stores a couple of times this week as there were some pretty good sales on canned goods.

Anyway, on to my goals for this week. Maybe I can actually get more done!

This week’s goals –

  1. Finalize choice on QOV top and get sewing supplies and sewing machine ready to go
  2. Finish customer quilt
  3. Finish binding and label on Jordan’s quilt
  4. Finish binding and label on baby Blum’s quilt
  5. Have Design Wall Monday post – hopefully with blocks from my QOV

 Well, I have to get some work done some time! Hopefully this week will be it. How about you?

Accountability report links

Join in on the fun! Here is Mister Linky. Let us know what you have accomplished this week and what you have coming up for next week!

Check in with you later today!

8 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – November 10, 2010

  1. I am SO tempted by Alycia to do a QOV quilt this week, but I just don’t think I can pull it off. We’ll see how much I get done today, lol. I’m feeling pretty full of p*** and vinegar this morning.

  2. Pingback: QA Wednesday « Quilting and Stuff by Knitnoid

  3. Pingback: QA Report #39 « Prairie Moon Quilts

  4. Hey..You are not a slacker. LOL You get plenty accomplished for this time of year. Love your tree. The trees have been beautiful this year.

  5. Beautiful tree and every time you look at it, it’s a reminder of your kids growing too!

    I so want to do a QOV! I wanted to do the one Judy designed back in May and when I finally got fabric for it (months later), the instructions had been deleted from her blog when she had her website upgraded. She said it might be in her next book. Can I wait that long?

    Don’t put too much pressure on yourself, that’s what makes us push everything away, not because we don’t want to do it all, we just don’t want to be “pushed”. Whatever is a true priority that week WILL get done. The rest will just have to wait!

Leave a Reply

