Stash Report – November 14, 2010

Nothing new on my stash report, so here are the numbers –

  • Used since Oct 31:  0 yards
  • Used this year:  110.06 yards
  • Added since Oct 31:   0 yards
  • Added this year:   48.46 yards
  • Net used for 2010:  61.6 yards from stash

I did get the center portion done of a QOV but won’t post stash used until I am totally done with the top. I will add two borders sometime in the coming weeks. The big question though is how do you figure the yardage used on scrap quilts? Any quick and easy ways that you all could share with me?

Well, that is it for today. Jump on over to Judy’s and see what everyone else has done!

9 thoughts on “Stash Report – November 14, 2010

  1. There is a fabric calculator online (http://search.quiltshops.com/calculator/calculator.htm) that I use a lot with scrap quilts. You enter the size of your blocks, how many you have and the width of your fabric and it spits out an estimate for you.

    I don’t know how accurate it is, but I’ve been using it. I’m like you, I do a lot of scrap quilts and there’s just no good way to keep track of what I’m using when I’m making one!

    PLUS, it seems like when I make a scrap quilt, I generate just as many scraps as I use, lol!

  2. I just kind of estimate as I am cutting fabrics. Unless it is just total scrap I am usually still cutting strips of fabric for scrappy quilts and try to keep track. Like I cut 10 2 and a half inch strips of various fabric I will add it up. I am sure not the worlds most accurate but works fairly well.

  3. I record the number and the sizes of the strips and squares that I use. I have a formula on the spreadsheet that covers 5 columns:

    Number Length Width Sq In Amt

    I input numbers in colm 1,2,3. The formula for sq in is (number x length x width). The amount is calculated as (sq in/1584). I got the 1584 as the number of square inches in a yard, assuming that a yard is defined as 36 x 44. I just keep copying the formula down the page adding notes to the side for what quilt I am using the fabric in, etc.

    If it is really scrappy block made with odd shapes of fabric. I just figure out the sq inches of the finished block and ignore all of the seams.

    Hope that helps…. and I think Judy uses EQ for estimating her fabric use.

    Liz

  4. For each type of block I make, I try to add up the fabric for each patch, then use that number for all the blocks in that set. Not sure how accurate it is, but I’m at least consistant!

  5. my calculating is pretty loose. Depending on if there are lots of little pieces and seams–I just figure the yardage of the top, usually multiply times 1.333%. The only time I figure real close is in the buying–nothing is worse than being short 4 inches!

    Great job on the QOV’s.

  6. Thank you all for the tips on calculating. I think I will try several of the methods just for fun and see how they come out…maybe do the accurate, count every patch to see what the “true” one would be and then check out the others to see which is closest.

    I will let you know!

Leave a Reply

