Quilter’s Accountability Report – November 17, 2010

Can you believe next week is Thanksgiving? Anyone have any unusual traditions for Thanksgiving? We just have the regular get-together-and-stuff-yourselves-Thanksgiving with family, except it is rarely on Thanksgiving and is more often on Friday or Saturday due to everyone’s schedules and extended family. The only really different thing we do is NOT watch TV or football games when we get together here at our house….that is mainly because we don’t have cable or any fancy TV reception here. Gives my Dad some incentive to have it at HIS house, but Mom sure likes to have everyone over here!

Do any of you have any unusual traditions or out of the norm ways of celebrating Thanksgiving? Maybe the Hunter and I will “adopt” one or more of them to use on Thursday for just our Thanksgiving…..

On to quilting…..

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finalize choice on QOV top and get sewing supplies and sewing machine ready to go – DONE
  2. Finish customer quilt – Almost done
  3. Finish binding and label on Jordan’s quilt – Binding done
  4. Finish binding and label on baby Blum’s quilt – nada
  5. Have Design Wall Monday post – hopefully with blocks from my QOV – done, but not with QOV blocks

Here is the center of the QOV top that I worked on Thursday. I picked Alycia’s Not So Secret Project #2 (scroll down to see #2) and am really happy with the way it is coming together. I posted about the QOV sew day over here.

Here is Jordan’s quilt with the binding finished. I still have to make the label and stitch it on. Hopefully it will be warm and cuddly for her!

The snowman quilt is moving right along. I got all the background quilting done in all but one or two of the blocks – basically anywhere blue thread was needed. Now to just go back in and do the other colors.

This is my 2010 First Saturday quilt and was also what was on my design wall on Monday (without the green sashing strips – you can see the post here). I have the Grandmother’s Flower Garden block almost finished, then have to applique it to that empty square of fabric in the middle. I already have three of these rows sewn together and have all the sashing cut and ready to finish the rest. This won’t take long at all. My goal is to have this one quilted and bound by the first 2011 First Saturday meeting which is January 7th (the week after because of the holiday). If I get this accomplished it would be a first for me! The other two First Saturday quilts I have done started aren’t finished. One is a Mariner’s Compass and the top is totally done, I had just been waiting until I felt I had the skill (and now the time!) to quilt it.

All in all not a bad week. I didn’t get anything done on the Blum baby quilt, and I really have to stop procrastinating on it and get it whipped out. It is small so shouldn’t take long.

This week’s goals –

  1. Bind and label the Baby Blum quilt
  2. Label Jordan’s quilt
  3. Finish customer quilt
  4. Finish GMFG block and applique
  5. Finish framing block 13 from the 2009 First Saturday quilt
  6. Layout and begin setting the 2009 First Saturday blocks into the top

Ambitious goals I think, and I probably won’t get all of them finished, especially with Thanksgiving prep coming up….but I am aiming high (mainly because I have a lot I need to get finished)!

How have you all been doing with your goals? I know some of us have a big push to get UFOs done before the first of the year, others like me are just trying to keep our heads above water. Where do you stand?

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun and let us know what you have accomplished! Remember with my WordPress blog, you have to actually click on the link to see who has joined up and visit their sites, even if you don’t actually want to link up!

Check in with you later today!

5 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – November 17, 2010

  1. I’m pushing to get UFOs done before the end of the year, but I’m also making new work for myself, lol.

    I have a few Christmas presents that were supposed to be done last year that I’m GOING to get done THIS year! 🙂

    I’m planning on doing lots of sewing for this Christmas.

  2. Pingback: QA Report #40 « Prairie Moon Quilts

  3. What is unusual for me this year is to spend Thanksgiving with DH’s family! Usually we spend Thanksgiving with my family and Christmas Day with his. But now that most of his family has relocated to North Carolina, the fact that Christmas fell on Saturday this year made at trip down at that time impossible for us schedule-wise.

    Looks like you’ve had a productive week and that First Saturday Sampler is looking good. I think that milestone finish is as good as done!

    I keep reminding myself any progress is good progress and it’ll all get done in the end.

Leave a Reply

