Quilter’s Accountability Report – December 1, 2010

Oh, my! It is so hard to believe it is December! It would be a lot harder if the kids weren’t reminding me all the time….”How long til Christmas, Mom?”, “How long til my birthday, Mom?”, “When is it going to snow?”, “Can we put the Christmas tree up today?”, ” Can we put the Christmas lights up today, Mom?, “Can we put Christmas lights on Miss Pauline’s house today, Mom?”, “How many days til Christmas, Mom?”….you get the idea! LOL

Well, in spite of the Thanksgiving holiday I did get quite a bit done this week.

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish binding and label on the Baby Blum quilt – DONE!
  2. Add the narrow green border to my 2010 First Saturday quilt – not touched
  3. Have a Design Wall Monday post – DONE!
  4. Finish another customer quilt – DONE!
  5. Prepare fabric and stuff for a girls’ day out sewing with friends on Friday – DONE!

 The Blum baby quilt actually has the binding and label on it and has been washed, so it is ready to go home with them this weekend. I didn’t touch my 2010 First Saturday quilt, but that is okay. I got enough other stuff finished. You can also see my Design Wall Monday post earlier this week – here.

The customer quilt I finished was a T-shirt quilt for a Christmas gift. It turned out very nice and was quick and easy, which was a bonus for me, plus the piecing was wonderful which always helps.

The other big thing I did during the week was take off Friday to sew at a quilt shop with some friends. My wonderful, incredible husband stayed home and worked – he cooked the turkey, potatoes, watched the kids, and cleaned house for my family’s Thanksgiving celebration that evening!

Remember I was having trouble deciding what to take with me on Friday? I finally settled on three projects. The first was a UFO from last year at this time using a layer cake of Moda Crazy Eight fabric. The blocks were pieced this time last year and I actually got them all set together.

One of the benefits (or drawbacks – and you can read more about that on my Stash Report here) of sewing at a quilt shop is the ready availability of fabric for inspiration. While cutting out a strip for the second project, my unfinished QOV top, I happened to see the perfect Christmas fabric for the back….and it was on sale! So here is the backing fabric –

I didn’t get a lot done on the QOV, but only because I was running out of time (and I didn’t need any “fabric inspiration” for that one!). The third project I took with me was some Disney Princess panels that I bought a couple of years ago to make Munchie a quilt. I really need to get to work on quilts for her and Mini-me! Anyway, I found some fabric to go with the panels and now have a plan of what to do with them.

I think it was a very productive week!

This week’s goals –

  1. Finish customer quilt
  2. Add narrow green border to my 2010 First Saturday quilt
  3. Begin Munchie’s quilt top

I am going to stop here for this week. I know it doesn’t look like much for my usually over-ambitious self, but I will show you the customer quilt I am working on and you will understand….

The hearts in this quilt are made of crocheted doilies. My customer, Pat, and her mother pieced the quilt and Pat would like to finish it up for her mother to use. She originally was going to hand quilt it, then decided to quilt it on an embroidery machine, but gave all that up because it was too awkward and was going to take forever. She tried another longarmer who actually loaded it on her machine before calling the customer to say she couldn’t do it. You might say that the quilt top, the batting and the backing have all been around! Needless to say, the top has been pulled and pushed and is not at all square. The backing and batting were only a couple of inches bigger than the top so I did have Pat add some fabric around all four sides of the quilt top before she brought it to me, but I am still trying to keep it within the original center backing.

I am stitching in the ditch in all the sashing areas and around each heart individually and am still in the stabilization phase of the quilting.  The rest of the quilting won’t be too busy either and will consist mainly of hearts, vines, and maybe some feathers. It is just a big quilt with lots of little blocks! More than enough for this week…

So how are you all doing with your goals? This is the final month for those having a big push to get UFOs done before the first of the year. I had plans to get more done…..LOL….but it ain’t going to happen here! How about you?

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun and let us know what you have accomplished! Remember with my WordPress blog, you have to actually click on the link to see who has joined up and visit their sites, even if you don’t actually want to link up!

Check in with you later today!

2 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – December 1, 2010

  1. Looks like you’re kicking into high gear!

    I know what you mean about the Christmas questions, lol. My kiddos are the same way!

    We actually have the tree up already, though. We put it up last Friday.

    I’m so happy to have the Christmas spirit this year…first time in a long time. YEAH!

  2. Good work on getting so much done! Both of those customer quilts are great. The doily one will be a real heirloom when finished.

    As far as year-end plans, I’m still holding hope for the final hour push!! Hopefully things will slow down a bit for at least the next two weeks and some of the prep work I’ve done can finally pay off.

Leave a Reply

