Quilter’s Accountability Report – December 8, 2010

Time is rolling on! How have you done with your goals this week? Have you kept up, or like me only partially kept up? Here is what I finished this week.

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish customer quilt – not done 
  2. Add narrow green border to my 2010 First Saturday quilt – Done
  3. Begin Munchie’s quilt top – started!

 The customer quilt is taking just as long as I expected it would. I didn’t really think I would get it finished with all the blocks and SID I am doing, but it is coming along.

I did get the narrow green border added to my First Saturday quilt and also got the pieces for the next checkerboard border cut out.

Munchie’s quilt top is started and I posted about it here on my Design Wall Monday post. I am now waiting for some more fabric to come in to decide on backgrounds for the blocks.

I also played a little this week –

I don’t know if you have seen any of the Twister tutorials that are on various quilt blogs, but I have been fascinated by them for quite a while and wanted to try one. A couple of weeks ago I had this brilliant idea to make one out of selvages.  The top photo is my “before” picture – basically a nine patch with borders. This is 29 1/2 inches square.

I didn’t buy any of the templates that are being sold, so calculated the size of the squares on my own. I started with 7 3/4″ foundations for the selvages then cut it down to 7 1/2″. This made a 7″ finished square. The square ruler I have is 6″ and ended up being just a little too big, so I used blue painter’s tape to make it 5 1/2″ square. Next time I will start out with larger fabric squares! I marked my template on the 5 1/2 ” square and cut out the twister blocks using the template. If you look up at the top left of the picture above you can see a little bit of white where I had already cut out one block. I forgot to take a picture of it before, so just stuck it up on my design wall like this.

Here is the finished Twister blocks. This section finished at 20″ square. You have to be really careful at this point because every single side of this quilt is bias edges! Now all I have to do is figure out a really cool border to put on it…with selvages….fun!

This week’s goals –

  1. Finish customer quilt
  2. Begin piecing 2010 First Saturday pieced border
  3. Continue Munchie’s quilt top – if the fabric comes in this week

 I think this will be enough again with all the holiday activities going on. My major goal is the customer quilt!

So, how are you doing on your goals?

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun and let us know what you have accomplished! Remember with my WordPress blog, you have to actually click on the link to see who has joined up and visit their sites, even if you don’t actually want to link up!

Check in with you later today!

5 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – December 8, 2010

  1. Pingback: QA Report #42 « Prairie Moon Quilts

Leave a Reply

