Quilter’s Accountability Report – December 29, 2010

I hope every one had a wonderful Christmas and holiday! I have been staying away from the computer….just too busy with family and with the kids out of school, so I haven’t been posting or reading others’ blogs much. I haven’t even posted any Christmas highlight pictures! Later…..after the kids are back in school….

I did get quite a bit of quilting stuff done.

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish another couple of customer quilts (small ones, thankfully! LOL) – nope
  2. Continue piecing Munchie’s princess quilt – working on
  3. Piece some of the 2010 First Saturday checkerboard border  – done!
  4. Post UFOs for Judy L’s 2011 UFO Challenge done!

I didn’t end up getting the two customer quilts done that I had hoped, but did get another top quilted – my Crazy Christmas top. I quilted it with a Baptist Fan panto….let me tell you, those are not the easiest things to do and make pretty! I don’t think I will be doing one of those on a customer quilt as I had hoped.This is the quilt – made from a Moda Crazy 8 layer cake.

This is a close up of the quilting. It got better as I advanced on the quilt, but still left a lot to be desired. I am hoping washing it will improve the goofs! Next time I am going to try Mary’s freehand Baptist Fan as I think I would like it a lot more.

I have even cut out the binding for the Crazy Christmas quilt! I really wanted a dark blue or green but didn’t have anything in my stash that worked, so red it is……

These are more pinwheels for Munchie’s Princess quilt. I did get some done, and they are put together to use as leaders-enders if necessary. Once the pinwheels are done, the quilt will go together very quickly!

One of my other goals was to finish piecing and putting on the checkerboard border of this 2010 First Saturday quilt. I finished it and then some!

Here it is with the final border on. This is the first of the three First Saturday quilts that I have participated in that I have finished the top BEFORE the end of the calendar year!See this pile? That is the quilt top on the bottom, the batting, the pieced backing, and the ready-to-put-on binding! The whole thing is ready to go when I have a chance to get it on my machine! How is that for organized?! (Don’t worry – this doesn’t happen often. In fact it is a first, but one I hope I can continue!). I am hoping that “kitting” the backing and binding with the top will help alleviate UFOs. I hate it when I get ready to quilt a top and can’t find material for the back and don’t have any matching binding either. Ann H. from my guild gave me this idea when she gave me a top she had pieced to use for a QOV. It came complete with top, pieced backing, and binding all in a neat little bundle.

My last goal was to post for Judy’s UFO Challenge and you can see that post here. Reading back on blog posts from early this year I didn’t get nearly the UFO’s finished that I wanted to. I am counting on this to help me!

So what for this week? It is going to be another busy week as we are having our Sunday School class over for New Year’s Eve. Also with the kids going back to school on Monday, we are going to spend some time and do some things together.

This week’s goals –

  1. Finish two or three small customer quilts
  2. Continue piecing Muchie’s princess quilt
  3. Sign up for classes at MQS
  4. Post final stash report for 2010

I am stopping there again. That will be more than enough this week!

Accountability report links

How about you? Were you able to finish your goals for this week? How about your goals for the year? I am going to continue the Quilter’s Accountability Report into next year because it has been a great tool to keep me going. I didn’t complete all my goals by any means, but did much better than I would have otherwise!  Join us for the fun!

Check in with you later today.

Have a safe, wonderful, prosperous New Year!

5 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – December 29, 2010

  1. Isn’t it great that there are UFO Challenges all set up to allow us to finish what we’ve started. You (as always) are well on your way.

    The fans looked great BTW and I love the sampler border! Have fun with the kids and send out 2010 with a bang!!

  2. I love your quilts. The border really does finish it off nicely. The Crazy Christmas quilt looks fun. I have that panto but have not used it yet. Sounds like you are getting set for the new year.

  3. Pingback: 2010 Final Countdown Task Two « Prairie Moon Quilts

Leave a Reply

