Quilter’s Accountability Report – January 19, 2011

Another busy week….I haven’t shown many pictures of the kids lately, been too busy to post much, so I am starting off with a picture of Munchie with a stuffed cheetah she brought home from school last Friday in a “project bag”.  We read a book on the “Biggest, Fastest, Strongest” animals in the world and she got to pick her favorite from the book, which of course, was the cheetah.She really didn’t want to take him back to school yesterday morning!

On the quilting front, I am getting quite a bit done, but never as much as I would like. The Hunter always asks me, “So what’s new?!”

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish another customer quilt – not quite done
  2. Finish Keith and Angie’s top including borders – orange border on
  3. Work on the dinosaurs some more – nope
  4. Piece a top for my brother’s new baby, hopefully quilt it also! – half pieced

Here is the customer quilt I am working on right now, a lone star – All the continuous curve quilting is finished, I just have the fill in the open parts and the borders.

This is Keith and Angie’s quilt with the first border. It looks kind of like an ugly orange in the picture, but looks much better in person. I even have the blue borders cut and almost ready to put on. The quilt is already 94 by 94 and will be 114 by 114 when it is finished. I really don’t enjoy piecing quilts that big….I lose a lot of the instant gratification effect that I like so much! (And yes, I do know I have a block that isn’t pieced correctly, but it was too late to change it and I am NOT taking it out!)

I will get the blue border on it this week and hope to get the back pieced. This is my UFO Challenge project for January. I would be thrilled if I was able to quilt it before the end of the month, then I could bind it as a TV project during February.

I did get a good start on the quilt for my new niece.

This is the start of it. I actually have three of the vertical rows pieced but need to cut more white sashing fabric before finishing the others. There is only one thing – I really don’t know what I was thinking on the size of this. It calls for 12 fat quarters and the quilt would have been plenty big enough with only 7. Oh well, she will be able to use it for quite a while! Now if I can just remember to put a note on the pattern for sizing for a baby quilt for future reference….

I was able to finish up the binding on my Crazy Christmas quilt while watching TV with the kids.

This is a close up of the quilting after being washed and dried. The baptist fan panto looks much better now!

This week’s goals –

  1. Finish purple lone star
  2. Finish borders on Keith and Angie’s quilt
  3. Piece back for Keith and Angie’s quilt
  4. Finish piecing baby quilt (not the first time I have taken an unquilted top to a shower!)
  5. Work on Mini-me’s dinosaurs!

I have more I would like to get done, but unfortunately, I don’t think it will happen….like a couple more customer quilts, several of my own quilts, business taxes…..

How have you all been doing with your goals? Are you like me and just trying to keep your head above water? Join us anytime and maybe we can help you get some more things done!

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun and let us know what you have accomplished! Remember with my WordPress blog, you have to actually click on the link to see who has joined up and visit their sites, even if you don’t actually want to link up!

I will check in with you later this evening!

3 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – January 19, 2011

  1. Bari You get so much done. I agree the quilt looks better after washed and dried. Not that it looked bad before but it does change the feel of the quilt so much.

Leave a Reply

