Quilter’s Accountability Report – February 2, 2011

Hello Winter! It really hit us here and we probably have 8-10 inches of snow. Fortunately the ice missed us. 🙂  We are supposed to get between 14 and 21 inches, which is quite a lot for around here.

Here is the view out my back door at about 3:00 this afternoon. See how much snow is piled on the partially down tree? That tree is a remnant of the ice store we had here in 2007. After that ice storm, this little blizzard is no big deal! At least we weren’t up all night listening to trees crashing down in the woods from the weight of the ice! And we have power! YAY!

The birds were on a feeding frenzy, but the squirrels have yet to venture out for food.

I have been able to do some quilting, but haven’t gotten as much done as I would like. I had some minor surgery last Wednesday on the tooth I have had so much trouble with this past year and just didn’t feel like doing much for a couple of days.

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish another customer quilt – almost done
  2. Quilt Keith and Angie’s quilt – finished!
  3. Work on Mini-me’s dinosaur quilt – pattern figured out!
  4. Prepare some samples for a string piecing workshop next week – working on
  5. Quilt Lilli Grace’s quilt – nothing done

I am almost finished with my customer quilt. I have only a four or five-inch border to finish. It would have been done if it hadn’t been for an interruption for my UFO challenge….

But Keith and Angie’s quilt is totally quilted! This was my January UFO Challenge project and that was my goal. Notice the Dukes of Hazzard logo and the General Lee? I think the colors on the quilt go wonderfully with the Dukes of Hazzard sheet on the back and it wasn’t even planned that way!

One thing I can tell you as a longarm quilter….I am so grateful my quilts end up square and laying flat!  I was short on the blue fabrics used in the backing so it was only 3 inches wider than the quilt so I had about an inch and a half on each side. If it hadn’t been flat and square I could have been in a world of hurt! I adore flat, square quilts. They make life so much easier!

When I wasn’t feeling much like quilting this last week I sat and drew out a plan for Mini-me’s dinosaur quilt. Here are some preliminary sketches –The graph paper on the left is my sketch with little cut outs for the individual dinosaur blocks. This only shows the top of the bed and not the side panels that will hang down on the sides and at the foot of the bed. The panel I bought was in a kit (which ended up not having the directions in it!) but the kit was only for a small lap quilt which you see a photo of on the right. I need a twin size quilt so had to improvise.

This is a close up of the center section which will have the Brontosaurus. You can see in my note it will be 18×20 finished with a black sashing around the block. The diagonal lines will be black/off-white sawtooth-type design. I am hoping it gives the impression of large dinosaur teeth, like a Tyrannosaurus Rex.

This is the lower section of the quilt. There will be black frames around these also, then possibly a checkerboard of black and off white where the slash marks are, then another frame of black around that.

Here is the panel I am working with and you can see how odd shaped each of the dinosaur blocks are!

I didn’t get anything done on Lilli Grace’s quilt but I did get some of my stuff together for my string workshop on Thursday. As of now, I really don’t know if we will have it or not with the weather the way it is!

I did work on my 2009 First Saturday quilt. I pieced the large border and four corner blocks. I have the material cut for the next narrow border. It is all from the same brown and will bring the size of this one up to 103″ by 103″. This will go on the Hunter and my bed when it is finished!

This week’s goals –

  1. String quilt workshop stuff together
  2. Finish customer quilt
  3. Quilt Nina’s quilt
  4. Start making the binding for Deb’s Grandmother’s Flower Garden quilt, my February UFO Challenge project.

I think that is enough. The kids were  out of school yesterday and today and I promised them we would play in the snow today (if Munchie doesn’t keep coughing!) and I have the string workshop all day Thursday unless the kids are still out of school.

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun and let us know what you have accomplished. We would love to have you join us!

I will check in with you later this evening!

6 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – February 2, 2011

  1. You got a lot done. I really like you first Saturday quilt. Lots of room for quilting. LOL

    The dinosaur quilt is coming along nicely.

  2. Pingback: QA Report #48 « Prairie Moon Quilts

  3. I can’t wait to see your dinosaur quilt top. I love how you plan your quilt on graph paper. I’ve done a little bit of this in the past and forgot how effective it can be. Thanks for the reminder. Dar

Leave a Reply

