Quilter’s Accountability Report – March 9, 2011

Wow, time is flying! I haven’t hardly been on the computer since last week….If I hadn’t done the stash report the week before and then set it to publish automatically that wouldn’t have been done either!  I also have not made it to ANY blogs to read…..much less comment! This week I hope to catch up!

I am going to start this week showing the quilt I finished LAST week and finally delivered yesterday. I love this quilt! Karen J. from my guild made this top. She is also from Kansas, so the sunflower fabric was a natural for her. The piecing is wonderful and it was so much fun to play with the sunflowers in the quilting.

This picture shows the quilting in the four center squares. I quilted and echoed sunflower motif with different center parts of the flower. Two flowers have curved crosshatching and two have pebbling.

This shows the setting triangles and part of the double border in green and gold.

And the corner triangles with more of the border showing. I thought the border turned out really cool!

This picture shows one of the outside border sunflowers. There are nine on each side of the quilt and they were done with different centers to mimic the centers of the flowers in the fabric. It was fun!

Moving on to other projects from last week. It was busy and I got a little done….

Last week’s goals –

  1. Quilt another customer quilt (or two) – almost done with one more
  2. Finish the binding on Lilli Grace’s quilt – started putting it on
  3. Finish the binding on Keith and Angie’s quilt  – DONE!
  4. Get ready for a workshop on Thursday that I had forgotten about – Done
  5. Finish the First Saturday block due on Friday afternoon – Done

Here is the quilt that is currently on the machine. If Tuesday hadn’t been so incredibly hectic with meetings, dentist appointments, relatives visiting and everything else, I probably would be done with it. As is, I hope to finish it this morning before I go work at the kids’ school.

I did get the binding started on Lilli Grace’s quilt.

The binding is on about 1/4 of the quilt. This one has the wonky angles at the top and the bottom, so I had to research applying binding to them before I started. Here is where I found wonderful tutorials if you would like to look – scroll down a little until you get to binding inside and outside corners. The blog is Trends and Traditions, written by Heather Mulder Peterson of Anka’s Treasures. She does BEAUTIFUL work and her patterns and books are filled with angled quilts and table runners like this. I am praying that my practice on this quilt will prepare me for that pesky Grandmother’s Flower Garden I need to bind!

See this pile? That is Keith and Angie’s wedding/anniversary quilt all bound! Now I just need to get the label on it and haul it to the laundromat to wash it. That California King size quilt would annihilate our washing machine so it will be going into an industrial-sized front loader!

I did get my stuff together for the workshop. Here are four blocks that I have started (remember – table runner-size, NOT larger!). These blocks are not quite done. If you count you can see they have three rows of lights and only two rows of darks. They finish with four rows of each and then corner triangles on the dark sides.

This workshop was taught by a gal in our guild and is an Eleanor Burns Quilt in a Day technique. Here is a picture of one of the quilts done by the lady who taught the class .

Isn’t that scrappy pineapple quilt beautiful?! She is making one for each of her kids for “using” quilts! (She wasn’t up for adopting any more kids…..I tried!).

I also finished my First Saturday block in time – though that is the longest I have taken to finish one of these in a year or so! At least it was done!

Overall, not a bad week as I feel I accomplished quite a bit. Definitely a drastic improvement over my loser last week!

This week’s goals –

  1. Finish Eleanor’s customer quilt
  2. Quilt a QOV up next in line
  3. Wash and label Keith and Angie’s quilt
  4. Finish binding on Lilli Grace’s quilt
  5. Label on Lilli Grace’s quilt

I think that will be enough for this week.

I do want to thank each of you for your encouragement and comments on last week’s accountability report. I didn’t get any of them answered it has been so busy, but I know the encouragement from each of you sure fueled my improvement this week! Thank you, thank you!

What about you? Did your week go better this week? I hope you all have been much more successful at keeping up with things than I have!

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun and let us know what you have accomplished! Remember with my WordPress blog, you have to actually click on the link to see who has joined up and visit their sites, even if you don’t actually want to link up!

I will check in with you later this evening! (I’m not just sayin’ that – I really will!)

10 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – March 9, 2011

  1. Isn’t it great to have blog friend who spur you on? My surgery recovery would have been much harder without the encouragement I got from my blog friends!

  2. I’ve just found you, so I’m playing along for the first time this week.

    I’m loving Lilli Grace’s quilt! I like the pineapple wedding quilt for Keith and Angie, too. Nice work!

  3. Pingback: QA Report #52 « Prairie Moon Quilts

  4. I love your quilting on the sunflower quilt!! Do you do it all free hand or use stencils? What kind of long arm do you have, and how long have you been quilting with it. I really want to quilt like that! I love what you did to the borders especiallly. It’s going in my favorites file for future reference if I ever get that good. Thanks for sharing. Dar

  5. Your quilting is gorgeous – was that all free hand? Either way I am impressed. Love the pineapple blocks! You did good this week.

    Have a great *next* week!

  6. For everyone that asked – the sunflowers were done “semi-freehand”, meaning I used Golden Thread templates while doing the stitching. I also used a curved ruler to keep the petals from wobbling so much. Dar, ANYONE can quilt like that. You just have to be a little OCD like me!

Leave a Reply

