Quilter’s Accountability Report – March 16, 2011

It has been another busy week! I don’t know about you all, but I really can’t believe it is the middle of March already! The kids and I have started playing in the garden some already. My garlic and asparagus are both growing well….woo hoo! I started shoveling a garden bed this afternoon to plant some potatoes this weekend and this is what I dug up.Fortunately, I didn’t chop him in two! The weather is still really cool so he was pretty sluggish and probably not at all happy to be woken up! Especially when Munchie and Mini-me had to look at him and hold him. We turned him loose back in the garden, but the kids sure had fun. Those lizards are way too active and fast in the summer to catch so this was a unique opportunity.

What has happened quilting-wise this week? Well, I have gotten some done….

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish Eleanor’s customer quilt – DONE!
  2. Quilt a QOV up next in line – DONE!
  3. Wash and label Keith and Angie’s quilt – Washed, not labeled
  4. Finish binding on Lilli Grace’s quilt – in progress!
  5. Label on Lilli Grace’s quilt – not done

Here is Eleanor’s finished quilt

This is more of a close up so that you can see the quilting.

The colors in the first picture are probably closer to the true colors than this one. I sometimes find it hard to get true colors when not using a flash because I don’t use a tripod.

This QOV was pieced by Nancy W. in my guild. I believe it was a round robin block quilt – where a group of women each make a block and placed it in the owner’s box as the box is passed around from month to month. The recipient doesn’t see any of the blocks until they get all of them back completed.

This was fun to quilt. Nancy just wanted an all-over meander and the only reason she didn’t do it herself was that one of the blocks (orange background with a blue star and yellow star in the upper right) was dimensional and she was afraid it would get hung up if she did it on the Statler at a local quilt shop. She was right – I had to be very careful when working around it. I thought Nancy was very creative in her setting and I love the colors!

Here is a close up.

Keith and Angie’s wedding quilt is washed and ready for the label. I will work on that this weekend as I haven’t had much computer time this week to make it up.

Here is the binding in progress on Lilli Grace’s quilt. The binding is all stitched down on the front, now I am stitching the back down by hand while watching TV in the evening. I will do the label when I print Keith and Angie’s label and then will get it on next week.

So, I haven’t done too bad this week! Much better than a couple of weeks ago.

This week’s goals –

  1. Finish faux trapunto batting samples
  2. Begin Nancy W’s next quilt
  3. Label on Keith and Angie’s quilt, package it up and deliver it to them
  4. Binding and label finished on Lilli’s quilt
  5. Should I count planting potatoes?

Here is an explanation of the first two on my list this week. Here is the quilt next up in line – This is Nancy W.’s round robin quilt top. It is gorgeous and some very talented ladies in our guild contributed to it. Nancy will be hanging this on her wall and wants it to be pretty special. See those empty brown and blue areas? They are just screaming at me to have some trapunto to really make the quilting stand out. I am doing some faux trapunto samples with plain muslin to see what combination of battings we might want to use to give the effect I want.

Here are the samples I am working on. I have three done total and only three more to go. You can see on that one heart I just couldn’t wait to see what it looked like without the blue marker….We will see what I end up deciding to use!

So what about you? What do you have up your sleeve other than a little spring fever or a few shamrocks and corned beef?

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun and let us know what you have accomplished and what your goals are! Remember with my WordPress blog, you have to actually click on the link to see who has joined up and visit their sites, even if you don’t actually want to link up!

I will check in with you later this evening!

4 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – March 16, 2011

  1. You did get a lot done. Love the trapunto samples. Great idea. Yes I do think that planting potatoes could be a goal. LOL

  2. Pingback: QA Report #53 « Prairie Moon Quilts

Leave a Reply

