Quilter’s Accountability Report – April 27, 2011

I hope everyone is doing well and not having too much problems with the rain and flooding. This is one of the times I am happy to be living in the Ozark Mountains and not in the Ozark Valleys!

This is a picture of how much rain we got on Monday – 4 1/4 inches added to the 3 inches from the weekend and then we got some more last night. We are fortunate though, as south of us they got well over 12 inches.

You also probably already noticed that my blog is back up and running. My computer crashed last Wednesday afternoon (remember the monitor I recently bought and the comments on expecting the hard drive to go anytime?) and the hard drive was irreparable and irretrievable. I had to buy a new hard drive to go with my already new monitor. I also am having to get used to Windows 7 (former XP Professional user) and Microsoft Office 2010 (formerly 2003) so there has been a bit of a learning curve. I about had a heart attack when I first got the new computer plugged in and set up. The monitor came awake and there were absolutely NO icons, start buttons, or task bars anywhere to be seen. I could right-click on the desk top and get to some stuff, but no way to navigate that I was familiar with. I had visions of Windows 7 being this totally foreign monster where you couldn’t see what you were doing! Fortunately I fiddled around and found that the default setting for my new hard drive was to have two monitors set up – so all my icons and the start menu were all on the other, non-existent screen! Once I corrected it to having only one screen all was good to go.

Another great thing was that I really didn’t lose anything significant other than 14 months of emails. If you have emailed me lately and I haven’t contacted you back, that is because all those emails are gone! I hated to lose those emails as I save everything of interest that I might want to refer to one of these days.  That brings up backing up computers – I had all my files backed up (personal finances I only lost about a week of data, business file I lost about a month but there isn’t much activity in that file either) except my Outlook .pst file. I thought I had backed it up this February, but hadn’t backed it up since February 2010! Back those files up, ladies, and don’t forget about things like email and favorites.

Between computers and thunderstorms (neither my Gammill nor the computer are plugged in during thunderstorms!) I didn’t get as much quilting done as I would have liked.

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish Nancy’s quilt – will be done today!
  2. Quilt Caroline’s T-shirt quilt – nope
  3. Quilt Twisted Selvages – nope
  4. Continue with the pink and black D9P – no more accomplished

I really wanted to be further along. Imagine that! LOL. I am glad Nancy’s quilt will be done today. I just couldn’t get it cranked out last night. I was getting too tired and making mistakes so I quit before I had to commence frogging.

The only real thing I was able to work on other than Nancy’s quilt was my class sample for the Misty Fuse class. Here is the sample.

I am excited to begin working on the machine applique. Later. After I get my projects finished!

This week’s goals –

  1. Nancy’s quilt
  2. Caroline’s quilt
  3. Pink, white and black D9P
  4. Twisted Selvages – quilt

I am so predictable! This week will also be busy enough that I am stopping here. I am also looking forward to working on one of my own quilting projects one of these days!

How is your quilting going? Have you been as busy as I have? Let us know if we can help!

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun anytime – just for a week or a month or the rest of the year… let us know what you have accomplished. We would love to have you join us!

I will check in with you later this evening!

2 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – April 27, 2011

Leave a Reply

