Quilter’s Accountability Report – May 4, 2011

I finally got some quilting stuff done this week! (So I had a deadline….amazing how those help!) Here is what I did…..

Last week’s goals –

  1. Nancy’s quilt – DONE!
  2. Caroline’s quilt – DONE!
  3. Pink, white and black D9P – working on
  4. Twisted Selvages – quilt – DONE!

Woo hoo! Finally I made some progress and you get to see something different on my goals for the upcoming week!

I will show you a few choice pictures of Nancy’s quilt here. I will post the rest in the next post as an album so that you can view them at your leisure and don’t have to scroll through all of them for the Quilter’s Accountability Report.

This quilt was a Round Robin quilt where Nancy pieced the center and then each person in turn added a border. This is an especially talented group of ladies and is the same group that did a Row Quilt Round Robin that I participated in here. I opted out of this round because life has been so hectic….but I am so glad that Nancy let me do the quilting on her top!

This one shows the quilting a little more because it has sidelighting.

This is some of the detail in the corner of the center medallion.

Detail of outer border quilting –

This is a better view of the wide blue border with the applique. I designed all the quilting motifs especially for this quilt.

This is more of the border quilting – further out so that you can see how they all look together.

I love the texture in this quilt! We used only Hobbs wool batting with no other batting underneath.

I think the corner motif turned out really cool looking.

I love this picture!

And the post wouldn’t be complete without a couple of pictures from the back….

You can tell by the amount of pictures I took that I was really tickled with this quilt. It took quite a while to quilt, too, as you all very well know!

As soon as Nancy’s quilt came off the machine Carolyn’s T-shirt quilt went on.

It was really nice after the intensity of Nancy’s quilt to have a nice simple meander to work on!

I also finished quilting my Twisted Selvage quilt but don’t have pictures yet. I will post them next week after I get the binding on it and wash it.

All in all I think it was a very good week!

This week’s goals –

  1. Get ready for tomorrow’s Four Patch Posey workshop
  2. Piece First Saturday block
  3. Label on Ursula’s quilt
  4. Bind Twisted Selvages
  5. Finish piecing pink, black and white D9P
  6. Shirley’s quilt
  7. Quilt pink, black and white D9P
  8. Prepare for MQS

I have a very busy week ahead of me. I didn’t even realize how busy until I started remembering things I needed to do. I forgot about the workshop until yesterday afternoon when I took Nancy her quilt.  Wish me luck on this week folks!

I do have some exciting news for you….Shelly from over at Prairie Moon Quilts and I are going to try to get together at MQS next week! It will be so exciting to meet her in person! Is anyone else going to be there? Wouldn’t it be fun to get together? I will even post next week’s report from there (if I can get on one of the computers in the cyber cafe!).

Anyway, come play with us THIS week!

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun anytime – just for a week or a month or the rest of the year… let us know what you have accomplished. We would love to have you join us!

I will check in with you later this evening!

5 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – May 4, 2011

  1. Wow – Bari – That quilt is spectacular!! I can see why it took such time – but what a great outcome! Enjoy yourself and MQS!! Learn a lot!

  2. Bari, that quilting is really fantastic. I’m late with my post, but finally got it up.

    I hope you have a terrific, and productive, week.

  3. Pingback: QA Report #57 « Prairie Moon Quilts

  4. OMG!!! That is incredible quilting. I am in AWE of you. How do you do this type of quilting??? It must take you months and lots of patience. I assume you have a wonderful Longarm that just loves you very much to show off it’s wonderful stitches. Can’t say enough. It makes all my quilts look like rags in comparison.

    It looks like I will not be at MQS this year as I don’t have a room or traveling companion. I’ve been so busy and waited too long to get things arranged. Boo hoo.

    Have a great time at MQS and maybe one day we can meet in person.
    Darlene

Leave a Reply

