Quilter’s Accountability Report – May 25, 2011

First I want to ask everyone to continue praying for those in Joplin, Missouri, who were in the tornado and those who are down there for rescue and aid efforts. It is hard to believe the damage and destruction, and I can’t even imagine what the rebuilding process will involve.  One of the restaurants my brother manages is in Joplin. Six of his employees lost their houses. The restaurant and Bob are now part of the massive effort to feed people. My pastor’s brother’s house was destroyed. If you have looked at the pictures, that pretty much means everything is gone. If the Hunter wasn’t gone this week which means I have total care of the kids, I would have gone down to help with whatever needed done.

Events like this sure put quilting into perspective! I am grateful for my family and this reminds me to spend more time with them just cherishing every moment I have with them. However, quilting is also a great stress reliever for me and a comfort to the recipient, so I reckon I will keep it up….

Last week’s goals –

  1. Label and photograph pink, black and white quilt – DONE!
  2. Blog about MQS – hmmmm, not done
  3. Quilt Reva’s top – DONE!
  4. Quilt Jeannine’s top – Ready to go on the machine

This is Megan’s quilt finished. I love the way the black and white really make the pink squares pop.

Here is a close up of the quilting. This is my version of Dawn “the Pajama Quilter” Ramirez’ Jungle Riot pattern. This is from her Pajama Quilter Rethreaded DVD and workbook. The beautiful, shiny thread used is called Molly Poly and was new at MQS. They had cones of it on sale during Shopping Frenzy for $4! Needless to say, I bought quite a bit to try it out.


You can see the beautiful sheen this has. The color was perfect for Megan’s quilt as it was pinkish-purple.

This is the back of Megan’s quilt. Munchie and Mini-me picked it out – apparently Megan has a necklace with the peace sign on it. They recognized the sign, so had to have this fabric for the back. Good thing it was varying shades of pink and not green or yellow or something else!

I did get Reva’s quilt done, but haven’t returned it to her (and she and her good friend Carol read my blog!) so I can’t show any pictures of the finished quilt…yet! LOL

I have Jeannine’s quilt ready to go on the machine. I will load it tonight as I am spending the day at the kid’s school working at their field day activities.

I didn’t get the MQS blog post written…I do have it started and took pictures of my goodies and the practice pieces I did in my two hands-on classes. The problem is that I took 722 pictures of quilts at MQS. Do you know how overwhelming it is to sort through those and pick some to show on the blog? I do have one sure one to post though, the one of Shelly and I (that is, if she lets me post it!). I hate to post without asking…can I post our picture, Shelly? Please?

I did one other interesting thing this week – I made a batch of cold-process soap! It is something I have wanted to do for quite some time, but just haven’t made time. Well, the kids only have this week left in school and I can’t make soap with them around, so it was this week or not at all. The soap is “put to bed” right now, but I will unwrap it tomorrow morning and cut it into bars. It has to sit for a month before we can actually use it. I don’t know if I can wait that long!

This week’s goals –

  1. Quilt Jeannine’s quilt
  2. MQS post
  3. First Saturday block
  4. Get another customer quilt loaded

Beginning Friday at noon, the kids will be on summer break and my life will get a lot more hectic, so I am going to leave it right there. We still have a lot of planting to do in the garden if it ever stops raining – beans, cucumbers, melons, and pumpkins. The kids are also signed up for swim lessons for two weeks after Memorial Day.

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – come play with us – just for a week or a month or the rest of the year… let us know what you have accomplished. We would love to have you join us!

I will check in with you later this evening!

7 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – May 25, 2011

  1. The pink, black and white quilt looks dynamite, Bari!

    Not a thrilling post this week on my end, but I posted 😉

    Enjoy the holiday weekend.

    • Thanks, Liddy! I like the way the quilt turned out also!

      I hope you have a wonderful weekend also, and most of all, hope you feel better!

  2. Pingback: QA Report #60 « Prairie Moon Quilts

  3. Of course you can post the picture. I posted the one I took. I’m sure yours is better than mine, too. Help me out — post it! Hope your soap turns out OK. Sounds like fun. I’m still in the throes of quilting for our local show, and with all the storms, I can’t even plug in my machine a lot of the time!

  4. A few days late, but I’ve decided to try to join you – at least for a few weeks. My plan for this week is posted (and linked with Mr. Linky).

    I love your pink & black quilt!

  5. That pink and black quilt is just wonderful! The kids picked out a great backing!!

    Sorry to hear about your brothers employees – disasters are so awful, but worse when you know someone …

Leave a Reply

