Quilter’s Accountability Report – August 3, 2011

Is it hot enough for you all or what?! The official high here yesterday was 107 degrees, but my car thermometer read 111 and 112 degrees most of the afternoon when the kids and I were running errands. This is the “hottest for the longest” that I can remember….and driest. Here where we live we have only had 1/2 an inch of rain in the last month or more. Places all around us have gotten quite a bit more, but it has been pretty scarce here. I haven’t had a chance to take pictures of my gardens, but they are pretty pitiful. Between the Japanese beetles and the heat my corn and beans are gone. I am getting some tomatoes now, but it is hot enough they aren’t setting much fruit. We are so blessed to be able to walk into a store and buy what we need as far as food goes. If we had to depend on my garden to eat I wouldn’t need to go on a diet!

The kids and I did go to the fair last Friday. The Thin Mints and Feathers quilt won first in its wall hanging class as well as Champion in the wall hanging division. It also received a sponsor’s award from KREATIONS BY KARLA for a hand-guided machine quilted wall hanging. I was really tickled!

The picture above is part of one of the borders.

This is the center square of the quilt where I quilted the outline of one of the older Girl Scout logos.

This is one of the cream-colored rectangles that surround the center. As you can see, it was all feathers except the center medallion, hence the name Thin Mints and Feathers. I used Kimmy Brunner’s Twirly Whirly Feathers DVD for my inspiration. The feathers aren’t perfect, but I was sure tickled with them!

The Little Red Zinger received a third in its small wall hanging class, but it was not nearly as intricate as the other quilt so I was more than happy. I would love to enter a full size quilt in next year’s fair…we will see how this fall and winter go for quilting my own quilts!

So how did I do on the rest of my goals?

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish customer quilt – off the machine late last night
  2. Load next customer quilt – not
  3. Keep working on Mini-me’s quilt – working on
  4. Piece my First Saturday block – fabrics washed

Considering the heat, outside stuff going on, and VBS this week, I am not too displeased with how things went. I did get the customer quilt done late last night, but was too tired to load the next ones (three small wall hangings). I worked on Mini-me’s dinosaur teeth, but found I printed my EQ paper piecing patterns at the wrong size (how in the world I did that I don’t know!) so I am going to have to revamp the quilt slightly. It will just make the whole quilt a couple of inches longer than otherwise, but I am NOT going to re-do the teeth! I will take pictures when I get the whole center section together.

This week’s goals –

  1. Finish next customer wall hangings
  2. Work on Mini-me’s quilt
  3. Finish piecing the First Saturday block

We still have three more days of VBS and have family related plans for the whole weekend, so I won’t get a lot of quilting done. My main focus will be customer quilts.

How are your goals? Have they melted under the pressure of the heat or are you going hot and heavy with quilting just because you have to stay inside?

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun anytime – just for a week or a month or the rest of the year… let us know what you have accomplished. We would love to have you join us!

I will check in with you all later this evening!

4 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – August 3, 2011

  1. Congrulations on the ribbons. I bet the fair was hot..LOL I do not remember it ever being this hot this long. It is almost to hot to quilt. LOL Yet some how you managed to get quite a bit done. Can’t wait to see how the teeth come out.

    I think the feathers are perfect.

  2. Pingback: QA Report #70 « Prairie Moon Quilts

Leave a Reply

