Quilter’s Accountability Report – September 7, 2011

We finally have some cooler weather here, and it ALMOST feels like fall. If only it would rain a little. At the end of May our area was 2 1/2 inches over on rainfall for the year. We are now 3 1/2 inches under for the year. That means for June, July, August and the first week of September, we are 6 inches under what we normally get for that time period. It is so dry the squirrels can’t bury any acorns. They were digging in one of my flower pots trying to find somewhere they could actually dig. We are nowhere near where Texas is right now, though. My heart goes out to everyone there as well as my prayers…..

Things have been very busy here. I will have a post later this week with all the details….exciting things are happening for Munchie!

As for quilting, here is what I wanted to get done last week –

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish customer quilt – Done!
  2. Piece my first Saturday block – Done!
  3. Load and begin next customer quilt – Loaded and started!
  4. Begin piecing my QOV borders – Not done

I can’t yet post pictures of the finished customer quilt as I haven’t delivered it so you will have to wait until next week. I do have the next quilt on and am starting it. It was a struggle to figure out how I wanted to quilt it, and I have mulled it over for quite a while now, but the solution came to me yesterday afternoon, so I will be doing some SID and then the main parts of the design. We will see how it comes out.

Here is my First Saturday block – all finished on time even!

The other thing I wanted to work on some was my QOV UFO, however I got distracted by a different UFO – Birds in the Air blocks. This was a technique taught at my local guild about four years ago where you actually make two Birds in the Air blocks at one time using all rectangles and squares and NO triangles. Pretty cool method. This summer I made a plan to turn several of my UFOs into quilts for taking to church camp and this is one of the ones I thought of. These are VERY old, dated fabrics, but I think it will make a wonderful using quilt. I had most of these blocks started and about half of them totally finished. I really wanted to do some mindless piecing, so finished up what I had started. I still need to make more, but they will go pretty quickly. I guess this is my leader-ender project for a while.  🙂

How do you all think this pattern would look as a QOV? I am thinking of using this for a Veteran’s Day Quilt of Valor sew day but using red, white, and blue…without the green. I think it would be pretty sharp myself. You can also use any setting you might use for a log cabin type quilt, so can vary the look a lot.

Our guild has a string retreat coming up this month, and if things work out I am planning on taking my original QOV top there and finishing up the borders. The borders are made up of strings after all!

So what is on the agenda for this coming week? Good question!

This week’s goals –

  1. Finish customer quilt
  2. Load next customer quilt
  3. Piece a little to maintain my sanity….

That is it. Until I get a bunch more customer quilts done, I am not going to be able to do much of my own stuff. I have found, though, that I really need to do some piecing to keep up the enjoyment level with quilting. Piecing and creating is so much of the process for me also, not just quilting tops.

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun anytime – just for a week or a month or the rest of the year… let us know what you have accomplished. We would love to have you join us!

I will check in with you later this evening!

4 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – September 7, 2011

  1. Pingback: QA Report #72 « Prairie Moon Quilts

  2. I know what you mean. I have to do a little of my own stuff in between. Makes me crazy if I don’t. It’s like the break I need from customer stuff. My problem is taking too many breaks!!!!

  3. I to have to do a little something for me along with cilent quilts…but for me it is not always something quilty, also OK. have a great week.

Leave a Reply

