Quilter’s Accountability Report – September 28, 2011

I can’t believe Saturday is actually OCTOBER! Wow, but time is sure flying. Mom always said the older I got the faster time would go and she was right.

I have actually gotten quite a bit done this week.

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish Sandy L’s quilt – DONE!
  2. Load and quilt another customer quilt – on the machine and being worked on
  3. Do some more piecing – possibly start the square-in-a-square border for my First Saturday quilt – yes

Here are the pictures of Sandy’s quilt finished. It is so cute and she does a wonderful job with her piecing!

I think the puppy pull toys are adorable. Here is a close up of one of them.

Here is a close up of the center portion. I wanted to keep it simple and snuggly!
This picture shows how they work together. Cute!

This is the quilt on the machine now – This is a big one and will look beautiful on her bed when it is finished!

I worked on some piecing, just not the piecing I had originally planned. My QOV has been sitting around in my sewing room and has been nagging me to get it finished.

Here is the finished top:It didn’t take long to do the borders as I had all the 2 1/2 inch strips cut.

I also have the top, a pieced plaid flannel backing, and the binding all kitted up and ready for quilting! Woo hoo!

This week’s goals –

  1. Finish Courtney’s quilt
  2. Mark the top of the next customer quilt, Jo Ellen & Dusty’s Eagle Scout quilt – hopefully get it on the machine
  3. Possibly start the square-in-a-square border for my First Saturday quilt
  4. Repair the Hunter’s “Brrr suits”

This is the next customer quilt I have to work on after I finish Courtney’s. The owner, Dusty, is an Eagle Scout and designed the layout using patches he traded for at Scout Jamboree. His grandmother did all the applique.

Here is a rough idea of the main quilting pattern though it would be flipped with the eagle facing to the right instead of the left.Now I just have to get the eagle marked on the top, make it proportional and make it work with the badges that are already there. I will use crosshatching in the open areas and Dusty would like a fleur-de-lis or two quilted into the background. There is also an upward facing arrow pointing from the lower left to the upper right and a “100” in the lower right that I will quilt around to accent.

I think I have my work cut out for me….I also think once I get the eagle design on fabric, the actual quilting will be much easier than getting the eagle right!

The “brrr suits” that I am talking about are actually winter-weight hunting coveralls we use when deer hunting or even when fishing on the lake in the winter. Both pair have rips in them – one pair has had a rip for a couple of years even! The problem is I hate  mending things, so to get them done I decided I better put them on my accountability report.

That will do it for this week. My plate is full again!

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun anytime – just for a week or a month or the rest of the year… let us know what you have accomplished. We would love to have you join us!

I will check in with you later this evening!

5 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – September 28, 2011

  1. That dog is adorable, and you did a great job. Can’t wait to see the Eagle quilt finished. I haven’t been very accountable lately so I’m not linking up, but I’m plugging along and right now I’m working better without deadlines than with. That seems to go in phases for me, but I may have to make some goals next month, to get some bindings and quilting done.

  2. I love the dog quilt.. so cute. The Eagle quilt will be q challenge but you can do it. LOL It will take some time to get every thing sized just right tho.

    Hey can I send you by mending… I have some brrr suits that need mending to.
    LOL

  3. Pingback: QA Report #74 « Prairie Moon Quilts

Leave a Reply

