Quilter’s Accountability Report – October 5, 2011

We are having beautiful fall weather here, though a bit dry, and it is really hard to stay inside and work like I should. The whole family went goose hunting Saturday and the weather was incredibly nice…not necessarily that good for goose hunting, but it sure was pretty!

Here is a photo of all of us with some of the goose decoys and silhouettes.

The boys were too active to get a good picture of, but Munchie held still long enough to pose for me.

Here are a couple of the local scenery – 😉

See why I married him?

So on to quilting…..

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish Courtney’s quilt – DONE
  2. Mark the top of the next customer quilt, Jo Ellen & Dusty’s Eagle Scout quilt – Eagle is marked!
  3. Possibly start the square-in-a-square border for my First Saturday quilt – goofed, see below
  4. Repair the Hunter’s “Brrr suits” – forgot about this one

Maybe I should look at my list of goals during the week? I totally forgot about the Brr suits…just hasn’t been cold enough to even think of them!

Here are a couple of pictures of Courtney’s quilt.

This one is more of an overall with side-lighting so you can get an idea of the texture of the quilt. She wanted a fairly close meandering on the whole thing. I think it turned out beautifully and sure wouldn’t mind having this one on my bed!Courtney is going to send me a picture of the quilt on her bed when she gets it bound. It should be gorgeous!

I did get the eagle marked on the Eagle Scout quilt. I still have a little more marking to do as I want to mark a good part of the crosshatch before I get it on the machine.

I started cutting out the pieces for the square-in-a-square border on my First Saturday quilt but I goofed as I was cutting. I was supposed to cut out 120 3.25 by 3.5 inch rectangles. I cut a whole bunch of 3.25 squares instead.  😦   Friday while at the store for First Saturday I bought another yard of the fabric. The fabric is now washed and ironed, so I will get those RECTANGLES cut out this week if it kills me.

I didn’t have anything on my machine for a time this week as the Eagle quilt wasn’t marked, so I loaded up the Not So Top Secret Project #2 top and finished the quilting on it.

(NOTE TO SELF: I am really going to have to move the stuff on this wall – there is a TV and an old sewing machine here that make it impossible for the quilts to hang straight. This one is actually square and not misshapen as it looks in the picture! Wonder where I can move them…..)

I used a panto by Keryn Emerson, Square Spiral, and really liked the way it quilted up.

Meanwhile, I loaded another donated QOV top on the machine –

Ann H. in my guild made this quilt top some time ago out of 20’s and 30’s reproduction fabrics. When she gave it to me last year she said she had fallen out of love with the quilt and wanted to donate it. She had it all packaged up with the top, backing, AND the binding! What more can you ask for! 🙂

This week’s goals –

  1. Finish Ann’s Diamond QOV
  2. Quilt Dusty’s Eagle Scout quilt
  3. Put binding on the NSTSP#2
  4. First Saturday block for November
  5. Start the square in a square border for the First Saturday quilt
  6. Repair the Hunter’s Brrr suits

That will be more than enough for this week. I have no idea why I am so ambitious and know I will never get all of it done. Maybe the beautiful fall weather has infected me and made me overly optimistic!

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun anytime – just for a week or a month or the rest of the year… let us know what you have accomplished. We would love to have you join us!

I will check in with you later this evening!

6 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – October 5, 2011

  1. Hi, Bari! I’ve been MIA for quite some time, but I need to get back to working on my quilting, and the Wednesday QA posts are a good motivation 😉

    Love the quilts!

  2. Pingback: QA Report #75 « Prairie Moon Quilts

  3. Bari, You are inspiring to me!!! I am going to start my list of things to get done this week right now and I’m going to list it here so you can ask me about it next week. 1. Get the quilt on my machine done. 2. Load the next one. 3. Make my block for Nov 1st Sat ( not going to be there but oh well) 4. Sew all the past 1st Sat blocks. 5. Get outside some each day it’s not raining. 6. Get with you by email about setting up my blog. Got it started but don’t know what else to do.
    I’m tired now from making this list. I think I’ll take a nap!!!

Leave a Reply

