Quilter’s Accountability Report – October 19, 2011

Time is flying and I actually got quite a bit done this week. I take that back….I never get as much done as I want or need to, but I did get quite a bit done. I guess the pertinent question would be,  “Was it on my accountability list?”

This week’s goals –

  1. Finish the Hunter’s Brrr suits – not done
  2. Binding on the NSTSP #2 quilt – machine stitched on one side
  3. Binding on Ann’s Diamond QOV – machine stitched on one side
  4. Quilt Dusty’s Eagle Scout quilt – still working on it

I kind of procrastinated on the Brrr suits. I really don’t have to have them finished until next week. I am sticking with that story and reminding you that I hate mending things – even if that cold spell I talked about has hit.

I did get the binding machine stitched down to the front of both Quilts of Valor. The one on top is the Not So Top Secret Project #2 and the one under it is Ann’s Diamonds.

I may not get the binding stitched down prior to the guild meeting next Tuesday. I would really like to do it by machine, but don’t like the results nearly as much as doing it by hand.

Here are some updates on Dusty’s Eagle Scout quilt. This photo above shows the eagle’s head, beak, and neck feathers. I really like the look of his head and neck feathers, and the curved beak. I wasn’t sure how it would come out and am very pleased with how it will look.

I used blue water-soluble pen to mark the top (and yes, I tested it first!). I am quilting feathers and doing the SID around all the patches as I go. The blue diagonal lines you see are spaced 3 inches apart and are on the 45 degree angle. I wanted guidelines marked on the top before I started the quilting because on something this large it would be very easy to get my crosshatching off of the 45 degree angle. I haven’t yet decided if I will crosshatch every inch or every inch and a half.

This photo shows the arrow that goes across the eagle as well as part of the eagle’s wing tip.

Here is more of the right wing and feathers. I have really enjoyed working on this….except one part where the badges are overlapping. That has NOT been fun to SID around and my machine has not enjoyed it either! At least there are only two spots where it is going to be a problem.

So what about those projects that weren’t on my list? Well, Munchie and Mini-me got out of school early Friday and the Hunter and Mini-me went fishing. Munchie and I picked up some walnuts and then came into the house and worked on a purse she has wanted me to make for her. She picked out all the fabrics and told me exactly where the fabrics would go, and I did the sewing.

Her finished purse is pictured right next to the one I did a few weeks ago.  She really liked the orange and the purple fabrics, but we only had fat quarters or less of each and not really enough to do the whole thing, so had to make do. That is why the handles are made of the lining fabric and not of the orange.

I shrunk the pattern 50% for hers, and it is pretty much exactly like mine. It has a zippered pocket on the back, two pockets in the interior, and the magnetic snap to keep it closed. 

Notice she used my butterfly fabric that I had planned to use for the inside of my selvage purse? I have now had to rethink that project and choose another lining fabric!

This bright rainbow of fabric is a practice/demo piece that I will be doing and posted about on my Design Wall Monday post here.

This photo shows my design wall yesterday and a couple of other projects I was able to work on this week. Two of the square in a square borders are totally finished for my First Saturday quilt. The third is pieced, but I decided to wait to trim it until it is ready to go on the quilt. Each edge on the two shorter borders are on the bias and I am afraid if I cut the longer one, then have to move it, I will stretch it out of shape. As it is, these three pieces are going to live permanently on my design wall until time to put them on the quilt!

You can’t tell from the picture, but the two selvage sides of my purse are quilted. I cut out the rest of the pieces, so it is ready to begin putting together when I have more time.

I worked on one other unscheduled project this week. I carry a water bottle to guild meetings, board meetings, Women’s Bible Study, my kids’ school on my work days, and places like that. It is uninsulated and sweats and I hate a sweaty, dripping water bottle so bad I have been known to use an old sock as a coozie. Lately I have been using two rubber bands and a paper towel and have used the same paper towel for something like two weeks. Needless to say, it looked pretty ratty – functional, but definitely not classy.

Here is my solution:

The back:

I added velcro to the edges and here is my water bottle cover!

I am very happy with the way it turned out and have enjoyed using it already!

So what do I have to get done this coming week? I know for sure I can’t afford to get distracted by other projects….

This week’s goals –

  1. Patch the Hunter’s Brrr suits (have I mentioned I hate mending?)
  2. Put a button on a pair of the Hunter’s shorts (have I mentioned I really hate mending?)
  3. QOV information and QOV Sew Day handout ready for guild next Tuesday
  4. Finish Dusty’s Eagle Scout quilt
  5. Stitch binding down on Ann’s Diamonds
  6. Stitch binding down on NSTSP#2

Holy Toledo, Batman! I have enough for five of us to work on. If there are volunteers you are more than welcome to come over and do my mending!

How about you? What project have you been putting off forever and really need to get done? Let us help you! You can see I obviously need all the help I can get….

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky – join in the fun anytime – just for a week or a month or the rest of the year… let us know what you have accomplished. We would love to have you join us!

I will check in with you later this evening!

6 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – October 19, 2011

  1. Oh my I say you are going to be busy. Looks like the eagle quilt is going to be a lot of work but I’m sure it will be great when it is finished. The sweet potatoes look great I can already taste sweet potato pie and and just baked sweet potatoes with cimmanon and brown sugar and lots of butter yummy!!!!!!

  2. Bari, I love Munchie’s purse, such fun for a little one! And aren’t you clever, to make a pieced little water bottle cozy — yeah, I’m sure that looks a lot better than the paper towel and rubber band version 😉

    Just get that mending DONE, and it’ll be over with. Like pulling a tooth, the pain of doing it is less than the pain of letting it continue to nag at you. Then you’ll feel oh-so-virtuous, and can go on to more interesting and FUN things.

  3. Pingback: QA Report #77 « Prairie Moon Quilts

Leave a Reply

