Blogger’s Quilt Festival, Fall 2011 – American Charms

I am finally posting my entry into the Blogger’s Quilt Festival. This is a challenge quilt I worked on for quite a while for our local guild. The challenge was to use a charm pack to make a quilt. I found and fell in love with the American Primer charm pack by Minick and Simpson for Moda.

Here is what I had up on my design wall July 30, 2009 –

The problem came with the American Primer fabric line by Moda – there were border stripes in a couple different colorways… and I picked a couple of yards of them up.

Now my PERSONAL challenge was to figure out how to incorporate them into the quilt. I even posted here with some options I was playing with for borders and that was back in August!

Here is the finished quilt top up on the design wall in early 2010. 

I had it done in time to enter in MQS in 2010. I didn’t expect to win, but wanted the judges comments to see how to improve in the future. Here is a photo of the finished quilt hanging on the wall of my stairwell.

I got an Honorable Mention with it at our local quilt show so was very tickled with that!

These photos are close-ups of the quilting sidelighted from natural light coming in a window near the quilt. I love the texture!

Jump on over and see what other beauties are being displayed at the Blogger’s Quilt Festival this fall!

6 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival, Fall 2011 – American Charms

Leave a Reply

