Quilter’s Accountability Report – November 23, 2011

Is everyone ready for Thanksgiving? I have some quick grocery shopping to do this morning, then I think the kids and I are going to make cookies and candy most of the day. Gingersnaps, sugar cookies, and chocolate chip cookies are for sure on the menu. I am also thinking of some salt-water taffy, tootsie rolls, and maybe marshmallows. If we need a little salt in there we might make some homemade Chex Mix as we will be on sugar overload for sure! 😛

As for quilting, I did get a little bit accomplished!

Last week’s goals –

  1. Finish Dusty’s quilt – done!
  2. Make label for the NSTSP#2 quilt and put it on – not yet done

Here are photos of the finished quilt….quite a few of them so be prepared!

I took photos with side lighting so that the quilting would show up better. This first one is the overall quilt. They are going to bind it in a dark evergreen color.

Dusty wanted some fleur-de-lis quilted in also, so there are two of these, one on each side of the eagle.

He designed the quilt so that there would be an arrow across the eagle. This is the point.

and this is the left side of the quilt that has the feathered shaft of the arrow. You can also see the second fleur-de-lis under the wing of the eagle.

The left side of the quilt. I was really tickled with the way the feathers turned out.

I thought the eagle’s head looked pretty lethal with the curved beak…..

and the talons below sure add to the image!

Dusty, his mother, and his grandmother all came to pick up the quilt Monday evening. Dusty designed the quilt and decided on the placement of the badges. He and his mom pinned them on. When the final layout was done it was giving to his grandmother to applique the badges to the top.

I suggested that Dusty might find someone to add some fabric paints to the eagle and fleur-de-lis to give them some definition and to make them stand out. Some folks are doing beautiful work with the fabric paints, but not me! I am not that talented….I can quilt, but I can’t paint and make something look real!

So, Dusty’s quilt is finally finished. I didn’t get around to making my QOV label, though I did look for a copy of the last label I did for a QOV and couldn’t find it anywhere on my computer. That must have been one of the things that crashed with my old computer. Sometimes it is handy to use an older label as a template for a new one, but this one I will have to do from scratch!

I do have my next customer quilt on the machine. It is partially basted down and I will work on it more later today.

This week’s goals –

  1. Design and print the label for the QOV
  2. Finish the customer quilt
  3. Load the next customer quilt
  4. Piece a little on my mystery QOV
  5. Piece a little on Matt’s dinosaur quilt

Just a reminder that next week will be my last Quilter’s Accountability Report. I want to post a little more regularly in the future and find that right now I leave everything until Wednesday and then I have one huge post. I just need a break, so decided to stop it at the end of November because December is just way too busy anyways!

Part of what I am going to concentrate on in 2012 is trying to clean up my UFO pile. I have more than 40 UFO’s. I find that totally out of hand and appalling! Plus, I don’t even have a quilt on my own bed. That is just wrong. I want to finish up some of my quilts and actually use them instead of look at them as pieces of tops or flimsies. I can’t imagine being one of those quilters who totally finishes one project before starting another, but I would like to give it a try. Give me a couple of years and maybe I will be there!

Anyway,what about you? How are you doing on your goals, especially with the holidays and all that goes with them fast approaching?

Accountability report links

Here is Mister Linky. Join in the fun anytime – just for a week or a month or the rest of the year… let us know what you have accomplished.

I will check in with you later!

6 thoughts on “Quilter’s Accountability Report – November 23, 2011

  1. You did a wonderful job on the eagle quilt! It is beautiful, and I hope Dusty is thrilled with it. I thought I’d link up today, because I do actually have some goals and deadlines this week – gotta get my November UFO done before next Wednesday, and one other quilt. Maybe we’ll see you on Judy’s UFO challenge next year, if you’re aiming to make a dent in the pile 🙂

Leave a Reply

