2011 Christmas Quilt Show

SewCalGal is hosting a Christmas Quilt Show over at her blog. Enter your favorite Christmas quilt and you can win some fantastic prizes. You also need to check out the incredibly beautiful quilts that people have entered. Get yourself a cuppa and expect to spend a little time browsing!

The quilt I decided to show you is one that actually started in 2002 as a Block of the Month that I did with my mother at a local quilt shop, The Quilt Sampler. It was a “primitive” applique and I did most of the blocks as the year went by but never finished the sashing or put it together….then in 2003 I met my hubby, late 2004 we had twins, and life got in the way for quite a while and the quilt sat unfinished. I decided I was going to get it finished in 2007 in time for Christmas. I didn’t quite get it done for Christmas as I finished the binding on New Year’s Eve, December 21, 2007, but that was close enough for me!

I named the quilt “FINALLY! It’s Christmas!”Finally! It's Christmas!

I am also glad I waited to finish it because I was able to quilt on it my, at the time, new-to-me longarm. So this is the first quilt I really played on for myself! Here is a slideshow of some of the blocks: 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This comes out every Thanksgiving to decorate  our couch and to be used for snuggles, movies, and hot chocolate-evenings at home with our family. Hope you have enjoyed seeing it….but now you need to go on over to SewCalGal’s Christmas Quilt Show and see everyone else’s favorites…and don’t forget to enter your own, but hurry as tomorrow is the last day!

43 thoughts on “2011 Christmas Quilt Show

  1. That’s a really neat Christmas sampler. I do love primitive quilts and that’s on my list of desired projects. I’ve got all kinds of UFOs from 15 or so years ago that I’ve found in closets, under beds, etc. – projects that I started and then got sidelined as children’s lives crowded them out. It’s fun now to be working with them again. So I know just what it’s like to get projects like this finished. 🙂

Leave a Reply

