Whole cloth design with Carla Barrett’s Tablet Design Class

I am really enjoying Carla’s Tablet Design Class, though I have not had as much time to work on it as I would like. We are on the last week of it and have been playing with drawing whole cloth designs.

We initially started by drawing only 1/4 of the quilt, then we copied, pasted, flipped and rotated to build the other three quadrants of the quilt.

Here is my beginning quarter design.

I didn’t realize it when I initially drew this, but there is a dragon head in the drawing. The eyes really stand out. I may tweak his mouth area and see if I can make him look more fire-breathing…..wouldn’t that be cool?!

Here are the three whole cloth designs I can get by rotating the four sections various ways.

Number 1

Number 2

Number 3. This is my least favorite of the three but it is still cool.

This last is a totally different design and was just a quickie – I didn’t spend a lot of time on it, but was having so much fun I couldn’t stop!

2 thoughts on “Whole cloth design with Carla Barrett’s Tablet Design Class

Leave a Reply

