Easy Street – Step 4 Link up

Would you believe I am TOTALLY caught up!!!!!

Step 4 completed

Here are my step 4 units all ready to go. I will admit, I was not very happy to see more flying geese on this step. Those little puppies are difficult to get just right, and if your initial cutting is off, then your geese are off….not to mention sewing issues! Whoa, baby!

I did get better with the practice though, and this second set of geese were much better than the first set. But then I had issues when I would sew the two geese together….the top one was always wonky. That was because my seam allowance was slightly larger at the end than at the beginning of sewing them. I did a few at a time until I made the necessary adjustments. Even then, some would come out perfect, then I would do another wonky one! I am learning that is for sure!

One thing I am doing on this quilt is squashing my perfectionism. Some of those little points on my geese are cut off. In the past I probably would have had to re-do those and would have made a huge chore out of this whole quilt. But not now! Perfectionism is shelved in 2012! I am making this quilt for me….not for show, or for someone else, just for me because it makes me happy. I honestly don’t care if all the points aren’t perfect! I am learning to use these rulers and I am getting better at it. It doesn’t hurt that I also remember a couple of antique quilts Bonnie has shown on her blog, well-loved and well-used, that didn’t have a single point that wasn’t cut off! Did I notice it until Bonnie pointed it out? Nope.

So here it is, my Easy Street, and I am REALLY LOVING the colors and the blocks!

I took a little bit of time to play with some possible layouts, though these don’t use the four-patches.

Collage of layoutsAren’t these fun!? I really love the one in the upper left corner. I am sure none of these are close to Bonnie’s layout, but it is fun to play!

Why don’t you hop on over to Bonnie’s blog and see how everyone else is doing on their Easy Street?

24 thoughts on “Easy Street – Step 4 Link up

  1. They are a lot of fun to play with, aren’t they? Great job! I think if anyone can find any “funny” points in a Bonnie-designed quilt, they have way too much time on their hands!

  2. I too love that top left block. I’m really glad I’m not the only one with geese issues. I thought mine were pretty good till I tried joining the sets together. They are more than just a whisker out too. I will try trimming them down but if they’re still wonky after that I’ll learn to love them anyway!

  3. You have been very busy girl. WOW, your layout playtime is great! I can’t wait to get caught up so I can play too. This is going to be a lovely quilt, wonky geese or not. BTW, I am having the exact same issues with my geese. They must be incahoots with each other.

  4. Love that first set. Bonnie said in the linky post we are about half done. I know looking at those 3″ greens (my yellow) they seem enormous…I’m hoping we split them or something along the line.
    Sharyn in Kalama

  5. Nice job Bari. I like your designs with the pieces we have already done. This is my first mystery and it is driving me nuts not knowing what color is going where. It is fun to see how everyone is trying to figure out which piece is going where. Just look at all the different quilt blocks we could make. Thanks for sharing your progress. Tanya

Leave a Reply

