January Recipe #3 – Crockpot Smothered Pork Chops

I tried another recipe today. We had two lone pork chops sitting in the freezer and I thought today would be a good time to use them. The Hunter makes the most AWESOME smothered pork chops. He fries them, then lets them simmer in gravy until they are so tender they fall apart. Oh my, they are heavenly! Well, I am definitely not the cook the Hunter is, plus I was scheduled to eat lunch with Mini-me at school, then work for both of the kids’ teachers all afternoon. Not at all conducive to simmering pork chops on the stove for a couple of hours.

I searched the internet for what looked like a good crockpot recipe for pork chops. I found this one, Crockpot Smothered Pork Chops by Camie at Home Cooking For Six + One. The only problem is that it called for potatoes, and Mini-me HATES potatoes. Even when he was a baby he would spit out any mashed potatoes you would try to feed him, often forcefully and in your direction. He didn’t even like French fries until last year!

So as I saw it, there were three problems with making the pork chops with potatoes.

  1. The aforementioned aversion to potatoes by Mini-me
  2. The Hunter always makes his pork chops and gravy with elbow macaroni and smothers both the macaroni and the pork chops with gravy and any less would be a disappointment to the kids
  3. I made my fantabulous chicken pot pie last Saturday, which has potatoes in it, and we made Mini-me eat that. I didn’t want to force him to eat potatoes again in less than a week!

So my solution was to make the basic recipe but omitting the potatoes and carrots. I dumped it all in the crockpot and went to school. Once we got home we played outside for an hour or so and enjoyed the 55 degree weather and sunshine. When we came in, the kids worked on homework and I cooked some macaroni, whipped up a salad and some green beans, and dinner was served.

Yummy! Sorry I didn’t get pictures….but it was good! We will definitely do it again!

One thought on “January Recipe #3 – Crockpot Smothered Pork Chops

  1. Pingback: Give Me That Gravy! | terry1954

Leave a Reply

