Grandma’s Bowtie Blues

Woo hoo! I have a finish finally!

Grandma's Bowtie Blues

Grandma’s quilt, Bowtie Blues, is done and will be delivered later this morning.  I first posted about re-making this quilt here. This is one of my oldest UFOs (probably from 2000 or before!) and is #17 on my UFO list (see the tab at the top of the page – “UFO Progress”) and is a 2013 Finish-A-Long project so I am making progress.

Here are more photos of the finished quilt – the quilting:Diving for Pearls

I quilted it with a pantograph called Diving For Pearls by Barbara Becker. It reminds me of the old Baptist Fan pattern and I just love the movement it creates in the quilt. It is a medium density – loose enough to still be snuggly but dense enough to hold up to a lot of wear. I hope the Hobbs wool batting will be light weight but still warm for Grandma!

Here is the back.

Bowtie Blues back

I used the two rows I took out of the front to add some color to the back. I really like the way it turned out!

Notice the binding and the yellow flange? Binding with flangeThe yellow flange is actually part of the binding and the whole thing was done by machine. I heard about this technique on the Heartstrings Yahoo group and wanted to try it. The instructions are here at 52 quilts in 52 weeks if you want to check it out.

I did it exactly as the instructions called for it, but will change it up next time. I don’t like the back of the quilt – it would be okay with thread that matches the back on a busy back, but I sure wouldn’t use it for a show quilt.

Binding front and back

See the different widths of the back side of the binding versus the front side? I will leave more batting in next time as I like a fuller binding, and instead of stitching 1/4 inch away from the edge, I will bump it up to 3/8 or almost 1/2 inch. I will have to play with it and see what works best. But for a quilt like this, that will be used hard and washed a lot, it will be perfect. Overall, I am really tickled and hope it brings Grandma some comfort!

Jump on over to Crazy Mom Quilts and see what others have finished for today!

3 thoughts on “Grandma’s Bowtie Blues

  1. Whoo hoo!!1 Great finish and it’s really pretty. Grandma will love it and I know it will keep her warm and toasty. I love my quilts with the wool batting in them. I also like the panto you used. Good job!!

Leave a Reply

