Another finish – The Mariner’s Coins

This quilt was a long time in the making. It was started back in 2008 from left over fabric for a First Saturday quilt (block of the month) at a local quilt shop.  Here is the finished quilt top the left-overs came from – Mariner's compass top

See all the little 3″by 3″ squares in this quilt? The Mariner’s Coins was made from leftover pieces and squares.

The Mariner's Coins topHere is the top which was finished in November of 2009. I even picked out the backing fabric way back then and packaged them together with a package of Legacy wool batting that I was given. Why in the world did it take me until May 2013 to get it quilted?!!!!!Mariner's CoinsThe blue is actually a navy, not royal as this picture from outdoors shows.

I wanted to quilt it simply, in a manner that it might have been quilted a long time ago so I quilted it in a zig zag across the top.quilting Mariner's Coins

I adore the striped binding also. I hadn’t saved any fabric for binding so actually had to go shopping. I found this perfect stripe that is in a line of fabric made for the Boy Scouts of America.backing fabric for Mariner's Coins

The backing fabric is a very old one from my stash that I found in a fabric outlet many years ago. I love the old license plates and they remind me of when I lived in Colorado.backing with quilting

The only thing I am not happy about with this quilt is the batting. I have always used Hobbs wool, but a perfect size package of Legacy wool was given to me, so I thought I would use it up on this quilt. All was good until I washed it. The batting fibers migrated out of the fabric and there was so much loose fiber in the dryer that I thought I would never get it all out. The quilt almost feels like it has no batting left at all, however, any where there is a tiny fiber of batting sticking out slightly, like this…

fibers migrating

I can pull it out right through the fabric.

fibers pulling

I don’t think the problem is the fabric because this quilt just happens to have all quilt shop quality fabric in it (except for the back, and they aren’t coming out the back!). The only difference is the Legacy batting instead of Hobbs. I have washed my quilts with Hobbs wool hundreds of times and never had an issue. It is just a huge blessing that I didn’t use this batting on a customer quilt and then have this happen!

I am not happy with the way the quilt ended up and will never use Legacy wool on one of my quilts again. I am half tempted to pick the quilting all out and re-quilt it, but I have way too many UFOs and way too little time. The Mariner’s Coins will just have to be a summer quilt!

Once the link up begins for the Finish-A-Long, I will come back here and link this post to the main linky so that you can stroll over and see what everyone else has finished!

One thought on “Another finish – The Mariner’s Coins

  1. Bari, I’m sorry to hear of your experience with the Legacy wool. I have never used their wool, but have used the 80/20 from Legacy. Now I’m afraid to wash the quilt that I used it on. Hopefully that won’t happen too. Your Mariner’s Compass quilt is very striking. Thanks for the heads up on the batting.

Leave a Reply

